We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Hotels.comUS$89
PricelineUS$99
Expedia.comUS$88
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
236
245
114
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
245
114
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building four poster open fire main building lovely building executive room town centre cooked breakfast waiting staff breakfast was excellent visiting colchester family room saturday night full english breakfast tea and coffee character wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in a place that makes you resemble the past of the the 1st city in United Kingdom, this is the perfect place.
Next to Colchester downtown, this medieval stile property, will offer you amazing rooms, beautiful pub and amazing food options.
Its a very well recommended place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 727fabianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

We are very proud of this lovely old building, she may be hard to "upkeep" but worth it.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

Had a short overnighter - staff really friendly. Carparking was a little tight but managed to get a space. Stayed in the Annex - modern well appointed room. Would certainly stay again - very good location for access to town.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Phil C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Hi Phil,

Thank you for posting your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

The bar, restaurant and lobby all hold true to the age and era of the building. The rooms are wonderfully updated. Our only complaint was the condition of the mattress.
I was there with my daughter for the Uni open day and was thrilled to be able to book at the Rose and Crown. We had tried over the summer but it was full. A great overall experience and will always be my first choice while in Colchester.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Hi Carrie,

Glad we could fit you in and hope to see you again for graduation.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Although a period hotel, they do also have a separate annex building where the rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Hotel facilities are average with no room service after 9.30pm and breakfast not ready at published opening hours. Otherwise, staff were all friendly and nice. Sits around a 15 minute walk to the city centre.

Room tip: Room in the annex building will be best.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyBC4889NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Thank you Mikey for posting a review.

We look forward o welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Stayed for 5 nights during September, during those 5 nights the chef was late to cook breakfast on 2 occasions at 7 am, all the staff were very pleasant and friendly both in the hotel and restaurant/bar and the food was nice, the only down side for me was the cleanliness of the room, empty coffee sachet on the floor when i arrived, bathroom handle loose cobwebs in corners and dust/fluff on the walls around the extractor fan, which needed cleaning out. Both bedside lights on one side of the bed didn't work.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank 2BQuality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Thank you for posting your review.

We have fully revamped our checking procedure in housekeeping to avoid these errors in the future.

I can only apologise that we did not meet our usual high standards and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews