We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great as always”
Review of Swan Inn

Swan Inn
Ranked #244 of 478 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great as always”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

come here a lot and enjoy it every time. never have to wait long for food. good for everyone.
would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckmh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    42
    29
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food at good price”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

we ate here again as it is excellent value for money and the food is served well presented and very edible, unlike it's sister pub in Braintree.
we have had several meals here and if you want nice food on a budget then this is ideal, staff are attentive and in general no complaints.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well cooked food”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good selection of well cooked food reasonably priced and didn't have to wait for a table to become free but only one waitress serving all the tables and one person taking food orders and serving drinks so had to queue quite some time so service needs to be improved..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Avril84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It's got a lot better”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I wrote quite a negative review of this restaurant once, but I have visited many times since (mainly for breakfast) and would like to state that it's got much better.

Most recently I visited at Christmas for a hangover breakfast and received an excellent meal with bottomless coffee as well as friendly service.

I don't know whether the management has changed but they are now getting it right, although you still have to wait for the person taking food orders to make your drink which is annoying.

Keep it up Swan, and I shall return for many a hangover breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 637Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“give the chicken a wide berth”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

i visited the swan a few times while staying in the area for 7 weeks and enjoyed the special offers of curry on wednesday curry nights which was delicious, then i made the mistake of ordering the chicken skewers on chicken night, myself and my friend both ordered what we thought was grilled chicken and when we tasted this frozen, microwaved then fried monstrosity, we each ate part of the first skewer and instantly wished we hadnt, i felt sick almost immediately, we both sent them back and requested a refund, as the meal deal came with a free drink and we both had a glass of wine they deducted £2 each from the refunds for the wine and the managers expression said it all as if we were complaining for no reason, no appology given or anything, after leaving and all of the following day i was violently ill with sickness and diarhea which i have attributed to that meal as that was virtually all i had the whole day except fruit and would certainly never eat there again. avoid at all costs, the harvester is only down the road and is fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank darrincp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing