We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sleepy Fox B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sleepy Fox B&B
Ranked #30 of 41 Colchester B&B and Inns
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This B&B was super. Incredibly friendly staff, good food and excellent rooms.

The rooms are spacious with huge wet rooms. Comfy beds. You'll need to ask for a hair dryer though.

Huge and very good quality full English breakfasts.

Staff are so friendly and helpful and the pub has a nice feel to it.

Well done all

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsandMrHendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We also stayed at The sleepy Fox from 27th December and had breakfast which was superb. We heard the complaints being made by the previous review and really felt for the staff who were trying really hard to please people who were obviously not going to be satisfied no matter what was offered. Tea and coffee was made individually in pots for us and was hot and fresh. We had an amazing breakfast and were told the sausages, eggs and bacon are from a local farm. Having had buttered toast once why didn't they ask not to have it again or even ask for "unbuttered" toast? I am sure it would have been provided. If the room was clean and comfortable it is not worth a "very poor" review just because there was not chair.

We sat and chatted with the staff, who couldn't have been more pleasant and eager to please. We also had an excellent evening meal on both nights we stayed. We will definatly be coming to stay again. Well done guys, considering it was so close to a very busy Christmas we think you did a fantastic job.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed for two nights from 27 December. The room was clean, the bed was good with good bedlinen. The bathroom was also good but the light did not work over the mirror - we know this had been reported by the people in the room previous to us because we know them. There was a lack of bedroom furniture - it would have been good to have a couple of chairs as there was space.

Strangest carryon for breakfast - the first morning we found tables laid for breakfast so took our seats. Several teapots were lined up and full but they had been there for some time as they were cold. Staff were around but completely ignored us. Eventually someone came and said 'there were croisants and rolls in the oven - unless you want something else'. Clearly they were not keen to provide anything else. My husband asked for a full English breakfast and to be fair they provided it without complaint but brought him some toast ready buttered - he doesn't eat butter. The quality of the food was very poor - certainly not from a decent butcher! The juice provided tasted like it had been watered down. The second morning was even worse - it appeared that they were not expecting anyone for breakfast as no tables were laid. Eventually we went looking for someone to ask if we could have breakfast, and they explained that there was a problem with the chef but that we could have a cooked breakfast. The fruit juice was better this time but again the toast came ready buttered. When we asked to pay the bill, they thought we'd only had one breakfast so we had to tell them that we had also had a bed for two nights. They had difficulty calculating the total and then didn't take into account the deposit we had paid!

I'm sorry to say that no-one seemed to care about providing a good service or even a service at all; no-one serviced the room between nights so that we came back at night to find our used cups and saucers just as we'd left them and no replacement tea bags and milk. We will definitely not be visiting this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzevans999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Sleepy Fox is cool! Really large bedrooms and wetrooms which are situated in chalets on the other side of the pub car park - so convenient. Underfloor heating kept the rooms constantly warm. The full English breakfasts were really well cooked, and Zoe went out of her way to get some fresh grapefruit and pineapple as well as muesli. There was a good deal of choice for evening meals, which were of the same high standard as the breakfasts, and nicely presented. All the staff were frendly and helpful and one small hitch was sorted out immediately. The whole atmosphere was very relaxed and cheerful. If you are staying in the Colchester area, then look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

A lovely B&B and even nicer pub. The food is great and the staff are very welcoming. They have a good range of well kept beers that change on a regular basis. The rooms are a good size and very clean. Highly recommended for the loan traveller.

Room Tip: Phone reception is verging on non-existent but there is free WiFi in the pub. The rooms are in a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The sleepy fox is a B&B linked to The Layer Fox pub. The rooms are large with wet rooms. They are spotless, the beds are very comfy and huge in size. The staff are so friendly and bend over backwards to help, The breakfast is perfect, again served in a friendly but professional manner. I cannot recomend this establishment more highly. The pub its self is so cute as it is very old.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shâron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Pheasant Suites
Pheasant Suites
#1 of 1 in Elmstead Market
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleepy Fox B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleepy Fox B&B

Property: The Sleepy Fox B&B
Address: 2 Malting Green Road | Layer De La Haye, Colchester CO2 0JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Sleepy Fox B&B Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing