We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous evening”

Balkerne & Colne restaurants
Ranked #29 of 477 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Balkerne Restaurant and the Colne Bistro are open to the public, staff and students during term time.The Balkerne Restaurant offers a relaxing dining experience. Award winning menus offer contemporary British and International cuisine using freshly prepared ingredients, many from local suppliers.The Colne Bistro offers a casual dining environment. A lively atmosphere and popular meeting point
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Thursday evening this week was really special . I organised dinner for 47 friends in the Balkerne Room . Jason Sant, tutor, together with 15 third year students produced specially for us an amazing 6 course taster menu. Every course brought forth cries of "wow".There were some really great flavours in every course.The meal was rounded off with a beautifully executed pudding- or rather another wow, this time served in a goblet packed with flavour. Impossible to choose my favourite course. All this was served by a very slick, well drilled front of house team under the guidance of Tutors Sarah and Denise. It is hard to believe that all this was presented to us by students, at a very reasonable price.I recommend the Balkerne Room without reservation. .I have already had phone calls and letters of thanks thanking me for organising a really fabulous evening.A huge well done to all concerned.- -I am already working on our 2015 dinner!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gadabout70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I love it here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I really like going to the Balkerne and the Colne restaurants.
Although they are training colleges .the quality of the food and students is fantastic.
So much so that I have been to the Balkerne resturant twice this week.
The Vincent rooms in London are similar and just as good.
But Colchester is much better for me as I am a local.

Price good, atmosphere very good,.

Parking can be a problem but not impossible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pattipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something different to go yo during the week as some places can be very quiet. So after checking trip advisor we thought we would try here. We made the booking a week ago ( gets booked up ) and a few days before they confirmed our booking. The place is friendly and very clean, staff very welcoming. We sat in the bar until our table was ready. We we shown to our table , nice presentation and were offered menus followed by bread. The only disappointment was the bread was cold, not good when having pesto and goats cheese bread. The starters were amazing, def the best course, and presented very well. The other slight issue I would have is that the courses come out to quickly, so you get a feeling of being rushed. I don't think that's the case, as they are just being over efficient. My husband went for the crepe Suzette for dessert and this was cooked in front of us. We felt very nervous for the waitress , but she did herself proud! All in all the best value for money in the area, where can you get a great 3 course meal , with a bottle of sparkling wine and coffee for 2 people for £50 ?? Will def be going back , thank you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spot on as per usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent meal for 4 in the Balkerne Restaurant this evening. Great choice on the menu including a delicious courgette and goats cheese affair + plaice fillet starters, perfectly cooked lamb and desserts including a flambéed Crepe Suzette which was amazing to watch. All preceded by great amuse bouche.
Service spot on from the whole team/class....lets remember these guys are just starting out and learning on the go - although you would not know it. 10/10 as usual well done - see you soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gastronomique!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Fantastic starter, main and dessert. Produced a consistency
that would put most high end restaurants to shame

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floydforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balkerne & Colne restaurants also viewed

Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Balkerne & Colne restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing