We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled...”
Review of Jhaal

Jhaal
Ranked #147 of 478 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled...”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Don't be fooled by this restaurant. Me and my hubby and daughter came for a meal we have never been so rushed to eat our food. Cleared dishes away while I was still eating. As soon as my fork was down plates cleared away and the bill was on the table. My daughter didn't even get to have pudding. It's not cheap, I wouldn't mind we got there at 6.30 and it wasn't busy. All very strange, infact I can liken It to what another person has commented. Bit like a little,chef!
Way to the raj much better. Happy cheery staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Another Sunday buffet at the Jhaal, excellent food and friendly staff. A little further to travel but we have made this our local now as its the best in the Colchester area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jooly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food good, service ok”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The food was average quality and flavour for an Indian restaurant. I found the service below average and the ambience of the restaurant was similar to a little chef. Very odd! Recommend way to the raj instead as much better food and service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Food.Lovely Atmosphere.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just come home from having a wonderful sunday buffet,with a large group of friends.Please can we say a very big thank you to Johnny and his wonderful staff.
The food was delicious,fresh,hot and nicely presented.The service excellent,the restaurant spotless,and the atmosphere relaxing.
Would highly recommend Jhaal in Marks Tey.We will definetely be returning in the near future.
Once again thank you so much.Johnny and his staff are a real credit to the restaurant.Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairecolchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Colchester!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Our first time here, but won't be our last. Having heard so many great things about this restaurant I thought it would be worth a visit. The service was great, the staff were friendly and were happy to chat, the food was excellent much better than brick lane curry houses.

I can't think ofa bag thing to say. Even the bill was reasonable!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clang_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jhaal also viewed

 

Been to Jhaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing