We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast fit for a King - or Queen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jubilee Cafe

Jubilee Cafe
Ranked #88 of 477 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast fit for a King - or Queen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Delicious breakfast and friendly atmosphere, we have been coming here for a while now and wouldn't go anywhere else in Colchester for a hearty fry-up. You have to wait a little while for your food, but that is because it's cooked fresh. Well worth the wait! Try the fried potatoes, they are scrummy yummy!

Only one detail, if you like strong coffee, have the tea. The coffee is the only thing that I'm not very keen on at the jubilee, but the food and service are both magnificent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellerC8175IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    3
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Sunday lunch, a full car park and we were told there would be an hours wait for our meal. We decided to wait and assumed as it was so busy it would be good. It wasn't. No starters, they only do them at Xmas! Sliced white bread with oil&balsamic was accepted. When the main course arrived the roast (2 small slices of beef) was bland tasteless and tough. The veg were over cooked, sauted potatoes fatty and the coffee weak. Poor value for this quality - canteen food.

I thought busy restaurants were supposed to be good as the other reviews suggested. We wont be going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great find, superb food and excellent value for money - always a friendly welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Fantastic breakfasts - the fried potatoes are to die for. All the food looks great - including the roasts but it's the lure of an all day breakfast that keeps me coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast in colchester area. You just any go wrong there.
Great choice if food. Always love popping in.
Will recommend going to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We go to the jubilee often and have always had excellent food and service. Food is freshly cooked and worth the extra wait, highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jubilee Cafe also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Jubilee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing