We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweat Box”

Leisure World Colchester
Ranked #3 of 17 Fun & Games in Colchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year round fun for all the family can be had at Leisure World Colchester, with its wide range of sports and leisure activities. Whether you want to swim, work out in the gym, play sports or enjoy the social aspect of attending fun fitness classes, there is something for you at Leisure World Colchester. You can enjoy the facilities on a 'pay as you go' basis or by becoming a member.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Charter Hall inc Leisure world , the worst venue ever took 20 mins to find a seat as the lay out was tables and a free for all seating , with some reserved tables at ther front , In this day and age they have NO AIR CON , so the whole show was like sitting in a sweat box with everyone using leaflets as fans , the staff could not arrange a school disco that's how bad they are , my recommendation to others is if you want to see good acts go find a better venue than this [ there is loads within a short distance ] , seating at tables were on hard school type chairs !!
please think twice before you use this venue very dissapointing evening , even Navi the mj tribute act commented on how Hot it was inside, have seen him about 6 times and this was the worst evening of them all .

Thank 1CHELSEAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Navi show in Charter Hall.

Friday 18th July was a partcularly hot, humid day/night and the hall was warm from the start. We don’t have air conditioning, but go to great lengths to make sure that air ciculates through the hall, via various access points as efficiently as possible.

The ‘non allocated’ cabaret seating layout, has proved very popular and successful since we introduced it on a regular basis, for events that aren’t going to fill a full theatre style layout. It allows people to socialize around the tables with a rolling bar and periphery area to get up and dance if desired. Customers can book a prefered table, if they have sufficient numbers, otherwise they are invited to sit at any non reserved tables, which are shared with others, but no different to sitting next to others in a theatre style layout.

The chairs mentioned, are those we use for all our shows, both cabaret and theatre style live events as well as conferences/seminars, without any previous complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked a 'Superfun' party at Leisureworld Highwoods for my daughter's 5th birthday. I had never visited the Highwoods centre before and was unsure what to expect.
We walked into the hall and went ‘wow!’ The bouncy castle, jungle run, ball pool, football, tricycles and soft play were far above my expectations, and we had a truly wonderful time.
We were allowed half an hour to set up in the party room, which was more than enough time, and an hour after the bouncy castles etc. for food and games.
The staff could not do enough to help us and nothing was too much trouble. Many of the parents who attended commented on how good the party was and the kids loved it. I would highly recommend this centre for a birthday party and am telling all of my friends about it!

Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you Sarah for your wonderful feedback. Really glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday party at Highwoods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our first visit here so I was not sure what to expect but we all had a fantastic time in the pleasure pool. All of us had great fun generally splashing about and on the slides, it kept our little one from being too bored as well as, like all kids, generally has a short attention span.

Yes the changing rooms were very busy but that is hardly surprising when you visit a popular place. When we stay in the area again and are looking for something to do for the morning, we will certainly go back there.

1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. It would be great to see you if you visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I took the children, two 10 year olds and a 5 year old here, there was something for all of them. I found the pool to be very clean and all the slides and the lazy river were working. We all had a fun day here. In other reviews people have said that the changing rooms were not up to standard, but I found them clean and there was plenty of lockers and changing rooms. I will definitely be going back here with my children.

Thank Ann191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Really glad to hear you and your children enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice place for a swim. We took my niece along for the afternoon and she had a great time! Just in the Leisure bit not the other areas. The pipes are still fun even as an adult.

1  Thank Matt_H1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. Good to hear you and your niece enjoyed the flumes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leisure World Colchester also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Leisure World Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing