We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you want to swim?”

Leisure World Colchester
Ranked #5 of 17 Fun & Games in Colchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year round fun for all the family can be had at Leisure World Colchester, with its wide range of sports and leisure activities. Whether you want to swim, work out in the gym, play sports or enjoy the social aspect of attending fun fitness classes, there is something for you at Leisure World Colchester. You can enjoy the facilities on a 'pay as you go' basis or by becoming a member.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Do you want to swim?”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

At the end of August the school holiday swimming programme was still in place.
The Liesureworld booklet and the online information stated that the fitness pool would be open with some possible lanes reserved for clubs or length swimming. There was also a note to the effect that diving boards would be available in the diving pool throughout the holiday timetable.
I telephoned before leaving home, the fitness pool opened at 6 a.m. and closed at 9.30 p.m. I did not want to go to the "fun" pool with my granddaughter as she wanted to jump in and dive and I expected that the fun pool would be very busy and there was no diving allowed.
On arrival at 9;30 the fitness pool was all lanes, no jumping in or casual swimming just lanes. No dving pool and I was told that it was not open to the public during the week, only for classes and similar.
We then waited for the fun pool to open and yes, it was very busy and noisy with children and the out-of-school programme groups.
The coffee available at the poolside refreshment place was not available as the machine was playing up.
We thought we would try the "Haystack" dryer after our swim - it was not very effective, seemed to run slowly and was not at all clean: the filters were full of dust and the floor was muddy although we were probably the first people of the day to use it.
I had to try three lockers until I found one that worked and after telling a member of staff and suggesting the faulty lockers were marked as such they were still being filled and then exchanged for a working one.

GOOD POINTS

The receptionist was lovely and very helpful in explaining the lack of casual swimming in the fitness pool etc.
The parking is free if you register your ticket and after swimming you can walk into the park and eat your picnic.
The flumes were working just after 10;30 as advertised.
The lazy river was working well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VEDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Fitness Pool is normally in lanes for public swim sessions. As stated on our timetable for the holiday period, there were times when the number of lanes were restricted due to club or water fitness class use and the diving pool would be open from 1-4pm on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.
We apologise for the problems you experienced with the coffee machine. locker and haystack dryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    31
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Week with grandchildren”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We took our grandchildren to Leisure World thinking it would be a good chance to see how their swimming was improving, but found only small pools/jacuzzis and fast flowing water and then only to find out as we were leaving that there was another pool on the top floor, thank you to the uninformative receptionist for letting us know. We we're astounded at the cost of 3 children and 2 adults, it was school holidays so was very crowded, not unexpected. There was not enough staff at the kiosk where you collected your wristband, one chap was serving coffees and food whilst a queue behind was waiting to collect locker key or collect wristband, very bad arrangement and needs to be changed. It would be good as we're first timers to be informed about what was available to us, I know the children enjoyed the flumes, what a queue, but they also would have liked to swim, as would I and my husband. We were very disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear your grandchildren enjoyed using the flumes. The Leisure Pool is extremely popular so school holidays can be very busy. The Fitness Pool is a separate facility and is aimed at lane swimming rather than a "fun" area like the Leisure Pool.
I am sorry you feel the staff did not provide enough information. We will feed this back to our Welcome Zone team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweat Box”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Charter Hall inc Leisure world , the worst venue ever took 20 mins to find a seat as the lay out was tables and a free for all seating , with some reserved tables at ther front , In this day and age they have NO AIR CON , so the whole show was like sitting in a sweat box with everyone using leaflets as fans , the staff could not arrange a school disco that's how bad they are , my recommendation to others is if you want to see good acts go find a better venue than this [ there is loads within a short distance ] , seating at tables were on hard school type chairs !!
please think twice before you use this venue very dissapointing evening , even Navi the mj tribute act commented on how Hot it was inside, have seen him about 6 times and this was the worst evening of them all .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1CHELSEAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Navi show in Charter Hall.

Friday 18th July was a partcularly hot, humid day/night and the hall was warm from the start. We don’t have air conditioning, but go to great lengths to make sure that air ciculates through the hall, via various access points as efficiently as possible.

The ‘non allocated’ cabaret seating layout, has proved very popular and successful since we introduced it on a regular basis, for events that aren’t going to fill a full theatre style layout. It allows people to socialize around the tables with a rolling bar and periphery area to get up and dance if desired. Customers can book a prefered table, if they have sufficient numbers, otherwise they are invited to sit at any non reserved tables, which are shared with others, but no different to sitting next to others in a theatre style layout.

The chairs mentioned, are those we use for all our shows, both cabaret and theatre style live events as well as conferences/seminars, without any previous complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superfun Party at Highwoods Leisureworld - WOW!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked a 'Superfun' party at Leisureworld Highwoods for my daughter's 5th birthday. I had never visited the Highwoods centre before and was unsure what to expect.
We walked into the hall and went ‘wow!’ The bouncy castle, jungle run, ball pool, football, tricycles and soft play were far above my expectations, and we had a truly wonderful time.
We were allowed half an hour to set up in the party room, which was more than enough time, and an hour after the bouncy castles etc. for food and games.
The staff could not do enough to help us and nothing was too much trouble. Many of the parents who attended commented on how good the party was and the kids loved it. I would highly recommend this centre for a birthday party and am telling all of my friends about it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you Sarah for your wonderful feedback. Really glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday party at Highwoods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our first visit here so I was not sure what to expect but we all had a fantastic time in the pleasure pool. All of us had great fun generally splashing about and on the slides, it kept our little one from being too bored as well as, like all kids, generally has a short attention span.

Yes the changing rooms were very busy but that is hardly surprising when you visit a popular place. When we stay in the area again and are looking for something to do for the morning, we will certainly go back there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. It would be great to see you if you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leisure World Colchester also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Leisure World Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing