We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
Review of The Stockwell - CLOSED

The Stockwell
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Colchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Been there twice and it only takes two seconds to enjoy it circus tricks at the bar lovely meal and atmosphere great for Christmas amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nattypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    70
    24
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Went there on Saturday night for a meal with my partner. We had the sharing platter which was ideal as we could have a little of everything. The only small let down was the service. All the waiting staff are quite young but very pleasant girls, they just need a bit more experience under their belts. Can't fault the food or the venue. If you're in the area make an effort to check out The Stockwell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is superb”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited on 9th August and enjoyed to food immensely as always. We did send back some Irish coffee' s however the issue was handled professionally and swiftly. Still my favourite place to eat in Colchester

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvette186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely venue for a leisurely afternoon tea with a group of friends. Friendly service from reservation, through late arrivals and last minute changes in group size.
There is a choice of normal or gentleman's afternoon teas, the latter having more savoury options, with an interesting choice of teas or coffee if preferred.
However, we were a little bemused watching the staff putting the afternoons teas together one the cake stands, whilst walking back and forth from the kitchen with each item via the outside patio.
I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampered_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very impressed with the creative and historic sides of the menu.
Food was well presented and sensitively prepared, and service was very attentive without being over-the-top. Delightful amuse-bouche of tempura-battered mussels.
Meal for 3 with prosecco, dessert/cheeseboard under 90 quid.
Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stockwell also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing