We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was nearly worth 'Excellent'.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lakes Restaurant

The Lakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 465 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It was nearly worth 'Excellent'.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

You don't usually expect to get outstanding food in a 'leisure resort' restaurant but this one proved to be very good. The restaurant looked much the same as any other large hotel restaurant and perhaps lacked the ambience to put it in the 'excellent' category but both the A la carte and the Menu of the Day were varied and, based on what we ordered, first class. The Day's Menu apparently changes each day and the Waiting staff gave good advice and were willing and able to discuss the ingredients and emphasise the choices that best reflected local and in season produce. The wine list was not over ambitious and prices reasonable. For a three course meal with wine we paid only a little over £60 for two, before service, which we felt represented very good value for money. This is part of a family run hotel, albeit a large one, and there was throughout a sense of 'really caring' that would not be found in most of the big chains.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Add dinner here. Lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a taster meal at the restaurant for our wedding. It was amazing. So much good food and the beer was lush as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_H1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wedding August 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

good quality and service. Can not fault the place and breathtaking views. enjoyed the spa and their was a nice shop on site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The food was excellent and the staff very informative about the food they were serving. Could not fault the service all staff friendly & helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joycalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK, but over complicated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

good service, but the atmosphere in the room is weird and you can't see a thing out of the window because it's pitch black out there, it's like sitting in front of a mirrow (shudder!). The food was tasty but too complicated. Not big enough portions - for eg, we had duck breasts and mash. The mash was creamed about only about a tablespoonfull, smeared across the plate with the duck atop. It looks nice, but wasn't enough to fill you up. It was served with beans, but again, these were just slivers of beans - looked pretty, but nothing to eat!

We would eat there again if we are staying in the hotel, but I would not consider it a destination restaurant.

Breakfast, on the other hand, was great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lily Travel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lakes Restaurant also viewed

Leavenheath, Babergh District
Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District
 
Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District
Colchester, Essex
 
Leavenheath, Babergh District
 

Been to The Lakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing