We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Britannia & Gurkha Restaurant and bar

The Britannia & Gurkha Restaurant and bar
Ranked #25 of 466 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepalese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

There were 18 of us and the food and service were both very very good. Flavours were wonderful! The only criticism is that the portions were on the small side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JkvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    43
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Experience Authentic Nepalese Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have heard so many good things about this restaurant, we decided to try it.

A very warm welcome, it felt like being invited into someone's home who cared about the food they cooked for you. They set meal all sharing system worked well for the four of us.

I've eaten in traditional Indian restaurants since the 1970's,but this food is authentic and clean tasting it reminds me of the food prepared at home.

The service was attentive but not intrusive so we all felt instantly at ease.

We ate the delicious food as it was brought to us, over orderin was avoided. This is the first restaurant I was ever brought seconds. Everyone had enough to eat.

The meal went well with the Gurkha beer and the fruit finished off the eveing nicely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenicepian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fabulous and so different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Various friends have raved about this place and we thought that we should try it out. We were lucky to reserve as late as we did, for a table at 6.45. When we arrived, the car park was busy, the bar packed and the restaurant heaving. Not a surprise after tasting the fare and experiencing the overall ambience and atmosphere.
Three Nepalese brothers, wives and helpers run this unique place and the only reason it has taken me two days to review is that I'm not sure I want everyone to know about it!
A warm welcome, poppadum's and sauce, a menu described and sounding delicious, a solicitous question to ensure we were not vegetarians and then a fabulous meal staring with potatoes in spicy sauce and onion in tempura, salmon curry, lamb curry, vegetable curry, dhal and perfectly steamed rice. Perfectly cooked tandoori roti to accompany it. We finished with a traditional milk dish.
Perfect service, fantastic people and a bill of £30 for two for the food and a bit extra for two fabulous Ghurkha Beers.
My only complaint. It is too close to home and I shall be there as often as I can!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing place to eat and plenty of food. Very enjoyable evening had. Staff attentive and polite this was my third visit and never let us down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank deeroots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Can't see why the negative reviews!
Lovely meal; very authentic (IMHO), great service, good atmosphere, pretty cheap! All good.

Helpful?
3 Thank lljg2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Britannia & Gurkha Restaurant and bar also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Britannia & Gurkha Restaurant and bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing