We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Bond Hall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 42 Colchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Gill and Andrew who greeted us with tea and cake in their wonderful home set in an amazing garden deep in rural Essex. Our room was just beautiful, looking out over the gardens and adjoining countryside. It was well equipped with everything we needed including a variety of teas! There was also a good range of toiletries in the shower room.
We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning, freshly cooked by Gill. We especially enjoyed chatting to her throughout our meal.
This was an area we had not visited previously and we would recommend it to others. Black Bond Hall is a very restful retreat at the end of a days sightseeing and we would highly recommend it .
John and Lindy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Bond Hall C, Owner at Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Lindy & John

Thank you for your most glowing review of our Bed & Breakfast. We were delighted to meet you both.

Glad you enjoyed the garden. We love our home and delighted to share it with such lovely people.

Kind regards

Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had not stayed in this area before and were delighted with our choice of B&B. Lovely house and garden, quiet country location, very friendly owners who were attentive to our needs, welcoming cakes, fresh milk in rooms with decent tea. Altogether a good ambience.

Room Tip: Two rooms only - we were over the drive which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Bond Hall C, Owner at Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your super review of Black Bond Hall, much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked last minute for a Saturday night in the Easter holidays - Gillian's contact beforehand was excellent. The hosts welcomed us with tea and cake. Gillian spent quite sometime talking with us and making suggestions of places we could visit. We did spend the evening on Mersea Island as per her suggestion and we had a wonderful evening watching the sunset on a pebbly beach before eating at the Victory pub.

The house itself is very warm and welcoming. The gardens are beautiful - we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast looking out over the garden which was a nice, relaxed start to our day. Our room was Colne - the bed was very comfortable, we had water,tea and snacks ready. The bathroom was a shower in the bath (those with mobility issues may want to request the other room). We had soft towels and lots of toiletries.

We very much enjoyed our stay - thank you to Andrew and Gillian for being so welcoming!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmastartbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the Black Bond Hall Bed and breakfast recently and had a wonderful time.

The hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful when planning an itinerary of places to visit for the weekend.

The B&B was perfectly clean and located in a very quiet rural location. It was very easy to find as it was located just a short distance from the main road between Peldon and Colchester which also meant it was a short trip to either for dinner.

The breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of options from the full English, with toast and cereals to smoked salmon and eggs.

I would definitely stay again if I was back in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay here and can only repeat what others have already said. Our room in this beautiful house was comfortable and attractive and our breakfast excellent. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. It is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen-troughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Delightful B&B in a beautiful house with stunning gardens - very relaxing and peaceful.Excellent facilities and a tasty breakfast The owners treat their guests as friends and are thoughtful welcoming hosts. So much to see in the area - Beth Chatto gardens, 3 Nature Reserves nearby, Coggeshall Grange Barn & Paycockes. Visit Mersea Island in the evenings and watch the sun go down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Outstanding bed and breakfast in a recently opened business.

You can be assured of a warm welcome from Gill Crayston in her delightful home.
Large period property with superior modern facilities.
Quiet rural location, but close to the Mersea Road.

Convenient as their website states for Colchester, all surrounding villages in North East Essex and into Suffolk.

http://www.blackbondhall.co.uk/

We used it as a very convenient base to visit Colchester, Mersea Island and then onward to London which is easily accessible along the A12.

Lovely generous breakfast.

The room exceeded expectation.
Budget price, but fits in the Wolsey Lodge league for accommodation and setting.
Top of its class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
885 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pheasant Suites
Pheasant Suites
#1 of 1 in Elmstead Market
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
725 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
12.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: Black Bond Lodge Lane | Langenhoe, Colchester CO5 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: £57 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bond Hall Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA4 Gold Star highly recommended accommodation, Black Bond Hall offers a peaceful retreat, the property is set in grounds and beautiful gardens of just under 3.4 acre with plenty of off road parking. Offering two charming and very comfortable double rooms both with en-suite. Delicious breakfast is sourced from local produce and on arrival there is homemade cake, coffee/tea. We have easy access to Mersea Island and Colchester. Enjoy the Company Shed, Beth Chatto Gardens, Excellent for Wivenho or Rowhedge, with nearby wildfowl reserves and the Dedham Vale, Constable Country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bond Hall Bed And Breakfast Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing