We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Hideaway Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreyFriars(Colchester)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$98
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
77
14
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
14
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpoppy roomprivate bathroomhome from homeon arrivalnice cup of teahomely staypreservesfull englishlovely comfy bedbreakfasts were excellentbus stopfluffy towelswalk in showerhome made cakesgarden roomfresh milk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

At £65 myself and my partner heard alarm bells as usually for that money you get a dive, NOT here, from the warm welcome complete with the offer of tea, to the local knowledge (there is a path running behind the house that is a lovely 30 minute stroll to the middle of town) GREAT shower, ample breakfast (including home made jams!) it was both a surprise and treat at every turn, Richard and Gail are trying VERY hard to make this a success, I would hazard a guess they have nothing to worry about!!!

Room Tip: There is a path situated behind the main house that takes you directly to the centre of town via a lovely 30 minute stroll.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GibboGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter and I just spent three lovely nights with Gail and Richard. The B&B was cozy, clean and our hosts very welcoming! The breakfast was amazing and plentiful... Would definitely return:0) Thank you for a wonderful welcome and first time stay in Colchester.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently went on a Celebrity cruise to Iceland, and decided not to travel on the sailing day, and thus taking out the stress of traffic delays etc.
We chose to stay the night at this lovely B&B as it was only half an hour from Harwich Port.
What a lovely warm welcome we received from Gail and Richard, after being shown to our room we were provided with a most delicious home made cake and tea/coffee - mmm.
Our room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated with an ensuite.
Tea making facilities were provided for our early morning cuppa.
Breakfast was delightful and even included home made jam and marmalade.
We had our own access without going through the family home, which was a bonus.

A local pub was just a short walk away, which served good affordable food.
We will most certainly stay with Gail and Richard next time we cruise from Harwich.

Room Tip: On ground floor, so no stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank VivianneT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really friendly and welcoming. Comfy, clean rooms in a lovely quiet area.

Breakfast was great too. Like a home from home.

Easy parking and great access to town centre.

Very comfy beds and everything you could need, tea, coffee, biscuits and shower gel and shampoo.

Tea and cake on arrival was lovely too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Groves6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Be prepared to be delighted with your stay at the Hideaway Retreat B&B in Colchester, Essex. You will need to hope you're lucky when you book as they only have two rooms, and they do get booked up very quickly. Although it's a very small operation, Richard and Gail are highly experienced hospitality providers, having run a much larger B&B previously for 14 years. Being small is very much part of the charm of Hideaway Retreat. With just two excellent and well-equipped rooms to cater for, service is especially personal and friendly, more like staying at the lovely home of old friends. For example, where else could you expect to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee and a slice of home-made cake when you arrive? Breakfast is equally enjoyable, with plenty of choices, including more of Gail's special treats, like her own home-produced jams made with fruit from her garden. By the way, the Hideaway Retreat is not really very hidden. It's actually very easy to find, about 1½ miles from the centre of Colchester. But it is in a lovely peaceful spot, absolutely perfect for a totally enjoyable and relaxing stay. If the dates you want are already booked, try to arrange your visit for another time, because you really wouldn't want to miss out on staying at Hideaway Retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BayViewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews