We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!”
Review of Olives Restaurant - CLOSED

Olives Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Unplanned evening out, love Greek food, didn't know which of the two Greek restaurants to choose. We chose wisely, mezze for under £18, no alcohol licence but not a problem for us as we were driving. Lovely meal and evening!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, sensible prices”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch,thoroughly enjoyed savlou chicken, so decided to try a dinner.
My wife started with the delicious parsley salad, while I opted for grilled haloumi, both excellent!
Mains were Anne, chicken souvlaki, I had lamb souvlaki.
Both dishes were cooked to succulent perfection.
Downside,no alcohol license(although we're told this is rectified on 4th September)
We knew this from our lunchtime foray, so took our own!
All in all,a nice meal nice people,basic surroundings,simple food.Very nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eat here if you want good value & good quality food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Wanted to try Olives as we like Mediterranean food & we were not disappointed. We had a selection of 4 starters followed by lamb chops & stifado. We both thoroughly enjoyed the food. No drinks license here so we brought our own wine, this was put straight in the fridge until we wanted it. Our only comment was that we would have liked a bit longer gap between the starters & main, next time we will ask for this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, good price & friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As a regular to Greece I was a bit worried about going to a Greek restaurant in the UK. I was however pleasantly surprised with this restaurant. We went for the mezze at just under £18. The food was really well cooked and of a similar standard to that of Greek Tavernas. The chefs are from Greece and Cyprus and you could tell. All courses had a really authentic taste of Greece. The staff were really helpful and very attentive. Of course the warm weather and coastline of Greece were absent but Olive's couldn't be expected to provide that as well. A good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrett1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good food and good service. We used the takeaway service. They don't deliver but it was worth the short trip to pick up. Great variety in the menu and all well cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coltraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olives Restaurant also viewed

Great Tey, Colchester
Dedham, Colchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing