We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to say?”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What to say?”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights due to returning to Colchester for my graduation. The entrance to the 'hotel' wasn't very clear and we stumbled across a small bar/dining room that seemed to also be reception. The man on the desk was helpful and promptly showed me, my partner, mum and step dad to our rooms. Up a small steep flight of stairs to a basic locked corridor, squeaky floorboards, and old décor. The rooms seemed pleasant at first glance, until we shut the doors behind us. Very small bathroom that even someone of a size 10 struggled to fit in between the sink and loo. The rooms smelt musty and old, and everything was dusty. The windows let so much air in it sounded like they were wide open rather than shut. The bedding smelt as though it had been slept in and the walls had an odd stain down the side. On exiting the bedroom, the corridor smelt of sewers and the adjacent bedroom to ours had a very loud sound every time they used the shower, sink or bathroom.

Breakfast the next day was interesting, the solo waitress was friendly and helpful wasn't really appropriately dressed for waitressing and had the same on two days running. The basic breakfast came out for two of the four of us 10 minutes before the other two, and had baked beans on the plate, stone cold as if straight out of the tin. She served, filled, took orders and cleaned up on her own, yet never seemed to be in the dining area. The second morning the cook, seemed to serve us. was very loud and was quite stand offish and abrupt with other guests that were also part of my graduation party. I wouldn't really say it was a full English breakfast.

It was a place to get our heads down for two nights, which was quite difficult due to the loud noise from outside and lack of double glazing.

Somewhere to stay for a very important day, but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    32
    33
    87
See reviews for
46
51
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Reasonable family room on the ground floor for 3 of us visiting Colchester for just one night. A little confusion when we arrived as to how we got in but eventually greeted and shown to room by pleasant Samir who explained security system and told us breakfast was 8 till 9.30 am. We came and went as we pleased, free parking and very convenient for all restaurants and bars on main road outside. Beds were comfortable, clean with TV and tea tray. The following morning after a somewhat restless night due to street noise, we slept in and arrived in the breakfast room at 9.15pm to be reminded a little disapprovingly that breakfast finished at 9.30 but she would prepare our breakfast, a little grudgingly. This lady worked totally by herself, she set tables and cleared away, manned the checkout and cooked breakfast so I did feel just a little sympathy. Full breakfast arrived, very pleasant, refills of juice and coffee, tea available but we did feel under pressure as she explained she was preparing for a children's tea party later and locked the door to prevent anymore guests entering for breakfast!!
Probably would look for alternative accommodation next time in Colchester.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just come back from staying in a family room for six nights. Hotel is a bit of a stretch as it is more like a B & B. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the shower a bit tempremental but when reported was sorted. I have to say that Deborah who worked every day from 6.30am till 11 was a star. She had to waitress, cook breakfasts and do all the rooms single handly and was a very pleasent and lovley person. The owners should be ashamed of themselves not employing more staff and I hope they realise what a gem they have in her. The hotel is a bit shabby and certainly needs a lick of paint. However saying that Deborah made sure our room was kept spotless, fresh towels and cooked a fab breakfast. We had a lovley time and it was a pleasure meeting Deborah, there was not another staff in sight in the 6 nights we stayed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed this weekend in a family room, was greeted by deborah freindly and cheerful. We were shown are room given our room card and was left to settle, lovely clean and comfortable room pleasent view of the river clean ensuite no complaints at all. We were attending a wedding this weekend and arrived back to hotel where we had a comfortable clean bed, and a good quiet nights sleep.We went down for breakast next morning to a lovely welcome and more than expected breakfast, cereal choices, fresh juice ,tea fresh coffee,and a lovely full english breakfast. We were left in peace to eat it and not rushed, and YES we will be staying their again.Thank you deborah had a lovely stay xx

Room Tip: we stayed on first floor and river view was relly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth1greenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Riverside 'hotel' is not a suitable name. This is a B&B or Lodgings, primarily of appeal to tradesmen, for economy. There are no 'hotel' features, other than rooms and breakfast and no other meals or guest facilities on offer. The pictorial image of a Bar is inappropriate, as none such seems to exist for normal use.
The title 'riverside' is also something of a misnomer, being merely a rather dated establishment adjacent to a slow moving/dormant piece of water that was probably once a flowing river but is now attractive with lilies but not active - and there is virtually no sight of it from the establishment!
However, at the price, the very small single room was very clean and fully equipped, rather cleverly in such compact space. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, if uninspiring. The 'welcome' on arrival was agreeable.
Not my choice for a repeat visit, but would be satisfactory for the suitable target market.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Unwelcoming, rude and unpleasant best describes the attitude of the staff. Unsympathetic to vegetarians calling them abnormal. Insulting, short and don't even bother to give you the time of day. They don't understand the meaning of being courteous and will only get the message when people stop booking rooms at their hotel, so stop booking rooms!

Room Tip: Don't book a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed this weekend. Two rooms overlooking the river - bit dated but clean and comfortable. Small ensuite clean but one of showers temperamental. Staff very friendly and helpful. Central location easy to find off A12. Quirky old building so if you want modern go elsewhere . Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#20 of 23 in Colchester
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
387 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.4 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#21 of 23 in Colchester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 2 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing