We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Five of us stayed here for a girls weekend away and we were very impressed! Debs checked us in and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. I assume she is the person other reviews are referring to but our experience with her couldn't be further from those! I can see that she wouldn't take any rubbish but, this is her business so too right! The rooms are dated but are spacious, very clean & do the job nicely! Alison was a new member of staff and she served us drinks & was very pleasant indeed! From both Debs & Alison we couldn't have wished for better service! The breakfast was fabulous (all in the price!!). I told Debs that I didn't want sausages & bacon and she came out with a veggie breakfast for me! So much more than you'd get from the faceless value hotels out there! We left feeling satisfied by our stay & v full from a lovely breakfast! Thanks girls!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    31
    32
    86
See reviews for
43
51
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ok so we booked one night as we were going out in Colchester, getting ready in the room with music on the iPad (not particularly loud) and the owner comes storming in shouting and swearing at us all and telling us to "Calm the f down" and she would "see us in the morning" and if we didn't like it to get the f out of her hotel! I wouldn't have minded if we had been warned prior to this, however we had no idea the music was even loud until she came storming in! The rooms are dirty covered in mould and cobwebs, they provided 2 hand towels for three people, the curtains were hanging off all in the "family room!" Then at 7.25 this morning she knocks on the door and wakes us up to say she's had complaints about the banging and to get out! (To which our reply was ... Well we have been asleep you just woke us up!) no apology or signs of remorse. She also let herself into our room whilst we were out as the lights in the bathroom were switched off when we came back which is NOT acceptable when all of your possessions are there. Do. Not. Stay. Here!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keeble90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and 4 of my friends booked here for a cheap no thrills stay as it is close to the town centre, we were checked in by a very nice man, who offered to help with bags, changed our rooms to be closer together, advised of breakfast times (which after a night out we were looking forward to) at 8:45 we met in one room to get together before ordering a taxi, one of the girls had music playing on her phone which (so it wasn't exactly banging out) next thing we know, not even 9pm & we have a knock on the door 'the owner' as she liked to point out again and again whilst screaming at us and pointing her finger in our faces swearing and shouting for us to calm it down, we all just stood shocked, calm it down? A group of grown women, playing abit of background music whilst sitting having a chat waiting for a cab. She was extremely aggressive and caused a hell of alot more noise than we had, shouting in the corridor saying people are sleeping? We were taken back by her behaviour, a simple knock on the door 'hello girls, can u turn music down/off' would have been enough, we aren't a bunch of careless teenagers. I would strongly advise you to avoid this hotel, we couldn't get out quick enough in the morning we certainly didn't want her serving our breakfast! Worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmaboggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived to be greeted by a lovely man, who showed us to our rooms. Yeh the rooms aren't the greatest decor wise, but I expected it to be dated. However the room was filthy, mouldy and not properly cleaned. We had low music on in our room whilst we were getting ready, and had a knock at the door, it was the apparent owner of the hotel, she shouted at us, got aggressive and up in our faces telling us to turn the music off. One, our music wasn't loud, and two, I have never been spoken to like that in my whole life. The women was very abusive and used foul language. To be honest, she looked drunk as well. She has absolutely no customer service skills, and I cannot believe she speaks to her customers this way. During our stay we heard her do the same thing to another group of people. If they do not want groups of people staying then they should specify this. It made me and my friends not want to stay at the hotel, so please take this review seriously and do not stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Louisepritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Words fail me how awful this hotel is. The owner is the most rude vile specimen I have ever met so umprofessional shouting and swearing at guests stinking of alcohol!! Mold and damp in room, dust everywhere. Don't waste your money staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparklexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked two rooms for one night. After finding the side entrance we had to wait to 10 minutes to be let into the reception/bar because the reception staff wasn't even in the building!? After being rushed through a check in, in which we were told breakfast was between 8 and 9.30, we we're shown our rooms, both we're small as were the bathrooms. Anytime you used the water in the twin room there was a loud blender like noise which became increasingly annoying. The shower cubicle was tiny and the water either boiling hot or freezing cold. 3 of the 4 beds had stains on the under bedding, the rooms were cold, dusty and obviously not cleaned well as we found a previous guests toiletries underneath the bed. The sleep was average. We came down for breakfast at 9.10, again waited to be let into the bar only to be told through the telecom by the manager breakfast closed at 9am, we explained we were told 9.30 but the manager who was obviously already in a bad mood refused. She was not at all apologetic for the mistake of her staff and refused us breakfast as 'all the machines were switched off' (it's not exactly hard to switch a toaster on!). We complained that it was not fair and commented on the other problems we had had with our stay, in which she raised her voice in front of other breakfast guests and demanded us to leave! We were infuriated! The manager was abrupt, bad tempered and provided disgusting customer service. Had she of apologised for the mistake of her staff and just simply offered us a hot drink and toast instead of a cooked breakfast we would have been grateful and no agro would have been caused but no friendly customer service here! Outside we spoke to four other guests who told us they were demanded into breakfast from having a cigarette or they wouldn't be getting any. How can a manager talk to their guests like that and expect to run a successful hotel (if you can call it that) it's appalling! I would honestly advise all travellers to AVOID THIS HOTEL! I do not expect high standards but this was very poor, terrible customer service and for the price you can find a cleaner, friendlier and more organised hotel in the town centre.

Room Tip: Simply don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked in for 4 nights lasted 6 hours room smelt musky a brown stain on the mattress you would struggle to sleep with the noise from the high street also u need 2 be a size zero to get in the shower the hotel badge should be stripped an hostel should be put in its place do not stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gav3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 23 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.4 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 23 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 2 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing