We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Barn Conversion.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MichaelW1...
1 review
“Perfect Barn Conversion.”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Hayloft is a relaxing yet open barn conversion with a private patio so you can feel at home in your own idyll.

as it is located on the edge of the village the views from the master bedroom are only of farm land, so you can been as removed from the modern world as you like, but it is close to all modern amenities and a highly recommended cafe.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G
1 review
“Comfotable and spacious holiday let barn conversion in Essex”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Located close to the very attractive village of Great Bentley we found lots of attractions to occupy our two young grand children with award winning beaches at FrInton on Sea and Walton on the Naze and the usual seaside activities at Clacton on Sea, an excellent zoo at Colchester plus Hastys Farm Park also near Clacton all within a few miles. Our holiday stay 'The Hayloft' is a roomy and comfortable barn conversion with all you would need to self cater and is also child friendly. We found the on site very popular Farm Shop and Cafeteria a very useful amenity to have and we all enjoyed an excellent fried breakfast there. Fiona, who manages the complex was welcoming and very helpful and soon explained and sorted any queries we had.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review and I am so glad you enjoyed you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a getaway”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely place to stay. Clean and well presented. Good location for a quiet getaway or as a base for exploring the local area. Noise from farm machinery not at all intrusive. Didn't eat at the cafe but did enjoy coffees there and noted that it is popular with the locals so that should be a good recommendation for it. Farm shop well stocked and also well frequented by locals.
Would definitely book again if staying in the area.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you Gary for your lovely review. It means so much to us that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely barn conversion, friendly owners”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Needed a base in the area for 3 days and the Hayloft was perfect for us. Very tastefully converted and warm and well equipped. The farm shop is very well stocked with local produce, pretty much everything you might need. I'm sure we'll be back.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickrvp
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Lovely, Relaxing Country Setting”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very lovely stay. Our family was there for three weeks. The owners are very kind and accommodating. The house was warm and comfortable. Everything we needed was available. The gift shop has a tremendous supply of goods. Cafe next store has excellent food and service. Nice private entrance and a relaxing atmosphere provided in a country area. Loved the working farm. A vehicle is needed for travelling but there is train and bus service just a few minutes away. We were visiting family (new granddaughter) and the Hayloft is just a short drive from their house so was very convenient. There are numerous places to visit within a short drive.
I highly recommend staying here and would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing country setting
Liked least: Had no regrets about anything. The weather didn't allow us to sit outside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your time in placing this review and we are delighted you had a wonderful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerryKiwi
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful and well appointed”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved staying at this property. It was clean, beautiful and well appointed. The excellent farm shop next door is a great bonus. We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole H
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the Hayloft a very relaxing place to stay. Our host was very helpful in information about the area as this was our first visit to the area. A car is a requirement but we found the walk to Great Bentley station was a leisurely walk.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.