We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To Laina and James and their "flock" thank you for your kindness”

Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 41 Colchester B&B and Inns
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“To Laina and James and their "flock" thank you for your kindness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

As I came from overseas to visit Colchester for several days to visit my aunt in hospital, I was in need of a warm and homelike atmosphere.
Laina and James were wonderful hosts. The warmth of their welcome sometimes made me feel that I was part of the family! The three dogs and the cat greeted me sagaciously and I was honored to have them flop down and prop themselves against my knees
The room I slept in was attractively furnished, very comfortable and there was provision for hot drinks. There was a beautiful modern bathroom close by and I was even provided with a terrytowel robe. Normally I am used to ensuite accommodation, but in this case it was of no importance whatsoever.
Breakfast was served in a pleasant front room and there was a choice of good breakfast items and if I wished there was the possibility of using the front lounge to relax in. But my room was a welcome and relaxing place too.
I did have time to enjoy the town of Colchester. Though this is the first Roman town in Britain, it has kept up with the times and is enjoyable to visit - and it also has great eating places.
One day I hope to return with my family to enjoy a relaxed holiday at Rutland House.

  • Liked — The warm friendliness of my hosts
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dynamon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmoor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

A Guest House with extremely high standards which deserves a higher rating with the powers that be! The house is very comfortable with large, elegently furnished rooms with many extra's that make for a relaxing stay. Very convenient for walking into Colchester and plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalkHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

We stayed at Rutland House for a few nights before our cruise departing from Harwich. Wonderful accomodations and hosts. We walked into town and found many things to do. We enjoyed the wonderful garden with the gentle dogs in the evening. We found everything to be very clean with nice furnishings and great food. Very pleasant hosts, I'd go back!

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing of note
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2007

The Rutland House is a lovely place to stay in Colchester. Laina and James Cracknell; their friendly but gentle dogs Millie, Lulu, and Blue; and their adorable black cat, Clio, all welcome you with open arms (and paws).

The quality of the furnishings is extremely high. The B&B is rated 4* by the British Tourist Council and rightly so.

I stayed in the Victorian room which had lovely Victorian-style furnishings and the room was decorated in all shades of soothing beige. The room even had a TV, something I did not expect in a B&B (I expected a TV in a common sitting room). This room did not have a bathroom ensuite but I did have access to a large bathroom solely for my use across the hall. The other 2 rooms have ensuite bathrooms.

Breakfast was either continental or cooked-to-order full British breakfast - very tasty.

There is a lovely garden that I could view from one of the windows, though I didn't have the time to go and sit in the garden.

It's about a 15 minute walk into the city and there is a city bus stop less than 2 minutes away.

I recommend this B&B highly.

  • Liked — High quality accomodations and gracious hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2007

We stayed in this lovely B&B on our wedding night and can thoroughly recommend this as quality place to stay in Colchester.

We chose Rutland House after looking around the "quality" hotels in Colchester, and found this to be of superior quality and of much better value.

There are three rooms furnished to a high standard. We stayed in the main front room which is of a decent size, with well appointed en-suite bathroom.

The second room is smaller, with en-suite shower room whilst the third room has it's own bathroom across the hallway. Bathrobes are provided in this room !

Breakfast is served downstairs with good quality ingredients, many of which are locally sourced.

The B&B itself, has ample off road parking and is about a 10-15 minute walk from town, along the Lexden Road, passing through Crouch Street which has many small independent retailers, before getting to the main town centre.

Colchester is close to "Constable Country" and the villages of Dedham & Flatford (of Haywain fame). Lavenham and West Mersea are also only a short drive away.

For those without cars, London Liverpool St. is also only 50mins away, with regular services.

I would certainly recommend Rutland House for those coming to Colchester, and it can be used as a springboard for exploring this part of Essex.

It could also be used by those "on business" in Colchester and beats staying in a Travelodge !

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 121 Lexden Road, Colchester CO3 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing