We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity they have moved”

Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
Freiburg im Breisgau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pity they have moved”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We had the opportunity to stay at Rutland house in October 2008—it was a marvellous experience. When planning our trip to England this autumn, we had to learn it no longer exists as a B&B—a real loss!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy1976FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B.

The cleanliness was excellent, great service and a lovely breakfast. The attention to detail makes it above and beyond what we expected and it certainly provides value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and attention to detail
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2008

James and Laina have made an excellent job of adapting this large house to be a B&B, with three very spacious, well-designed rooms. From the dressing gowns for guest use to the chocolate on the pillow, everything has been thought of, to make this a 5-star stay. The cooked breakfast is superb, using high quality produce - the 'organic kippers' are the best I've ever had (though, as they only buy the best when they are available, you'll need to check the night before whether they have any kippers in). I'm visiting Colchester regularly at the moment, and really enjoying staying here. So much so that, when they were full, they let me stay in a fourth room that they don't advertise because they regard it as 'too small' to let . But that (twin) room is the same size as many other B&Bs I've been to, and furnished to a much higher standard! If need be, I'd rather stay in their 'fourth room' than anywhere else. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We knew it was going to be nice just from the photo's on the Web site and all the other reveiws, but it was better then nice, it was fantastic.
~Laina and James are wonderful friendy hosts
~there home is wonderful and the Garden is to die for, you are welcome to sit out there. We didn't have time.
Our room the Lloyd loom room was very comfortable and clean. and a had a very modern practicle en-suite.
You even get bathrobes, and a chocolate on your bed.

Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice if you don't like cooked bacon and eggs.

I would without a doubt go back and stay here.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawnydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

If you like cleanliness, attention to detail, lovely decor, quality food and friendly hosts then this is the place for you. We were especially impressed by their child friendly manner, nothing was too much trouble, even when we arrived at 10pm.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank FionaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

As I came from overseas to visit Colchester for several days to visit my aunt in hospital, I was in need of a warm and homelike atmosphere.
Laina and James were wonderful hosts. The warmth of their welcome sometimes made me feel that I was part of the family! The three dogs and the cat greeted me sagaciously and I was honored to have them flop down and prop themselves against my knees
The room I slept in was attractively furnished, very comfortable and there was provision for hot drinks. There was a beautiful modern bathroom close by and I was even provided with a terrytowel robe. Normally I am used to ensuite accommodation, but in this case it was of no importance whatsoever.
Breakfast was served in a pleasant front room and there was a choice of good breakfast items and if I wished there was the possibility of using the front lounge to relax in. But my room was a welcome and relaxing place too.
I did have time to enjoy the town of Colchester. Though this is the first Roman town in Britain, it has kept up with the times and is enjoyable to visit - and it also has great eating places.
One day I hope to return with my family to enjoy a relaxed holiday at Rutland House.

  • Liked — The warm friendliness of my hosts
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dynamon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

A Guest House with extremely high standards which deserves a higher rating with the powers that be! The house is very comfortable with large, elegently furnished rooms with many extra's that make for a relaxing stay. Very convenient for walking into Colchester and plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalkHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#19 of 23 in Colchester
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 121 Lexden Road, Colchester CO3 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing