We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and filling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strada - CLOSED

Strada
Price range: US$19 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Strada Colchester is an Italian restaurant that boasts a charming rear garden for al fresco dining, a beautifully designed bar area for pre-dinner drinks, and a restaurant split over two floors of a listed building. Located on North Hill, Strada Colchester has retained the original architectural features of the building's exterior. Strada Colchester is a part of the well-known group of contemporary Italian restaurants located on the high street serving good quality, simple, freshly prepared dishes using the finest seasonal produce available. The menus offer hand stretched pizzas, fresh pastas and risotto, as well as grilled meat and fish dishes.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and filling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

As a regular customer of Strada, a short notice visit prior to Christmas was in order and the restaurant was packed. We were seated quickly and were not overlooked by the staff at all. The food, consisting of olives, garlic bread, antipasto, mushrooms, pork fillet, chicken milanese and two Affogatos for dessert, along with a bottle of wine, only just pushed the £70 margin.

The quality of the food was very good, no complaints at all and will be revisiting in the near future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank legend187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy night a shame but what a great evening!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

This review is mainly to praise the front of house staff. Working in the industry myself, i understand the nightmare of being caught short staffed. Two front of house to manage a near on full restaurant - plus a short staffed kitchen - could have been a nightmare!

Despite having to wait an overall two hours to complete our meal, the staff were delightful - always checking up on you and informing you, always on their feet and when it was your turn to be served - boy they did it well! In such a busy and slow night where a lot of people would complain, they outdid themselves and actually made it all perfectly fine.

Pork, mash and green beans was delicious - worth the wait but may have liked a bigger portion. Bruschetta starter was delightful although could do with a little extra something to give it a kick of taste! Rest of my party for 4 thoroughly enjoyed their meals and my dessert (all two of them) were excellent.

Well done, Strada!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Service in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Once again exceptional service from the team at Strada. Food superb and Staff very attentive as always. We dined at Strada Friday night and as we were going to the Cinema afterwards we were shown our table straight away. Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough - it works well as somewhere to pop into to have a pre theatre/cinema dinner and also as a long languorous evening with friends. Varied choice on menu. Relaxing decor. Well done Strada

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

have had some good meals there but last time disappointed, did their revue after, thought they might read and reply, but my custom not that important, my revue based on previous visits

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a regular diner at Strada Colchester, I'm always pleased with the quality of the food and the service. Redeem some of your Clubcard points for vouchers and it's always good value too. Can't get enough of the gamberoni starter and the steak and chips always hits the spot. My wife says that the range and quality of the risotto dishes is always first class (and many restaurants struggle with risotto). The interior of the Colchester restaurant is calming and tables nicely spaced. It's no fuss food and you know what you're going to get. Top marks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coluforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strada also viewed

Great Tey, Colchester
Frating, Colchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing