We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming atmosphere”

Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli
Ranked #1 of 346 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant opens 12.00pm-1.30pm Tuesdy-Saturday 5.30pm-9.45pm Monday-Saturday. The Deli opens at 9:00 am until 17:00 pm Monday-Saturday Last Deli food orders until 4:30 pm. Alexandros comprises of two dining areas.One you can see from the road ,the second being tucked away in the back .The rear dining room has a very private feel to it and is an excellent venue for small private parties.We also boast our Deli which provides an excellent lunchtime menu.You can take away our homemade Greek delights in the Deli or sit and enjoy them in the rear of the restaurant.You can also enjoy a coffee and some delicious homemade cakes and Greek sweets.Alexandros is a small family business of 14 years.We enjoy welcoming our loyal customers day to day and we look forward to meeting new customers .
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We fancied a night out last week so went to Alexandro's for a meal. The owner, Aris, welcomed us and made us very welcome. The food was served well and reminds us of meals in Greece on holiday.
There is a good selection of dishes including some lovely chicken and if you like seafood Aris is very particular about the quality and you won't get kalamari if it is not in season!
The service if friendly and efficient and you don't feel rushed. The one of the best parts for me is authentic the Greek coffee at the end of the meal . The best way to finish an evening

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so glad you came and enjoyed yourselves so much that you took the time out to review us!
Over the years its lovely to see people we love return again and again.Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    163
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were in Carlisle for a family event and arrived on a Saturday evening without a booking. Restaurant was very busy but a table was found for four of us. We decided on the mezze and the food just kept on coming. The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and we were made to feel most welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are glad we could fit you in when you arrived with no booking.We are so glad we helped to make your evening enjoyable in Carlsle!
Thankyou for taking time out to share your experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

In carlisle for family occasion. We love Greek food so when we knew there was a Greek restaurant it was the obvious place to eat. Good home cooked Greek food. Service was great. We left with no room left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bel664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for choosing us to dine with.We hope you enjoyed your evening .Thank you for taking the time to review us we will take on board all ratings and try to better them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Lovely food, staff could show more effort ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My fiance took me out tonight to Alexandros for the first time ever, I must say I was pleasantly surprised, actually delighted with the food, it was perfect, I ordered the bacon wrapped chicken, absolutely delicious! The owner came out to us a couple of times and he was really friendly as was the, what we assume, manager, the staff forever took forever to serve us, weren't very friendly and didn't manage to smile, it's like it was to much to ask! Other than that, food came quite quick and we had a great time!

Helpful?
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Well thank you for your comments,a shock really to be truthful about our staffs lack of professionalism .You can be assured they have all read the comments and we have taken them on board .So we should be back on track with smiles all round and a jet pack firmly attached!
We are glad you enjoyed the food and your evening and we will hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food at amazing price”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a lovely meal here. Lovely fresh ingredients. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Very reasonably priced too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trishz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your evening at Alexandros . Also thank you for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing