We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely place to stay overnight - within easy reach of town centre (10 minutes brisk walk). Clean room,lovely bedding and extra pillows, tea/coffee. Smallish toilet shower but suitable for us. Breakfast was plentiful and staff very friendly making sure everything was okay. There is also a restaurant as well but we did not use this.

Room Tip: Although I have said it was loud, I would think on a good night it would be quiet but on the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    70
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
71
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me and my Partner stayed here for one night (sat 21 June). The room we had was lovely and spacious with a very modern shower room. Room was well equipped with extra pillows, tea/coffee making facilities, tour guides and local information and plenty of cupboard space.

The hotel itself is very clan with lots of areas for the guests to relax and enjoy the surroundings, we read the papers in the guest lounge on the Sunday morning was a really nice room with a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast room was big and airy and the breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice. The food was very tasty and well cooked and all the ingredients were fresh.

The hotel is 10 minutes walk form the city centre which has a great choice of shops bars and restaurants.

The check-in and check-out were quick and simple and the hotel has permits for the close by car park which is a really big plus point for us.

Had a lovely stay here and would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a really nice hotel; all rooms recently decorated, quiet, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean! The rooms are quite big and the beds very comfortable woth good quality bedding's. Modern bathroom with electric shower. It's about 15-20 mins walk to the town centre and there is parking nearby (1-2 min by foot) or on the street. A parking disc is required and provided by the owner. The breakfast is cooked to order and the hotel owners are very polite and friendly. There is also dinner provided in the restaurant, but I didn't try it so cannot comment but the menu looked good! Great price, great hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here and would chose the Angus again if I am to return to Carlisle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was looking for somewhere close to the city, and found The Angus.
Nice clean room and bathroom with shower, towels and soap dispensers on the wall. To operate the plug in the sink you have to press to one side of the plug itself to get it to rotate.

TV above the bed if you need to catch the news, and tea/coffee making facilities.

Breakfast consisted of the usual cereals, juices, and a nice selection of fruit pieces and yoghurt. Full english breakfast also available with toast, tea and/or coffee, plus extra toast, tea etc if required.

Our room was at the rear of the premises so nice and quiet.

Would we stay there again? Yes definately. Staff were helpful and friendly.

The only slight downside is the lack of a car park, but we found the small free public car park just up the road works fine, and parking is also available on Church Street. Get yourself a free Car Parking Disc to park free around the city - available at Post Offices, newsagents etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthfulReviewInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here with friends on a Saturday night as we were meeting up for a night out in Carlisle. Twin rooms were £78, so not a bad price. Our room was quite small, but adequate for a one night stay. Very clean and a nice modern en suite with toiletries provided. The shower wasn't a power shower, more of a drizzle really but it did the job. Breakfast was good but we had a bit of a wait. My friend waited ages to settle the bill too. Staff / owner was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Taxi into town cast less than £4.00 and it isn't too far to walk in either. You have the advantage of being in a quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Was looking for somewhere clean & close to City centre for a golf break & found Angus online

Initial impressions were of a newly renovated premises close to other larger hotel
I had a twin room that was quite modern, very clean & good ensuite

Walked easily into town with guidance from the owners & had a good nights sleep
Breakfast was high quality

Overall very impressed & would return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights and the hotel was perfect. The rooms were well decorated and very well furnished. the bed very comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Breakfast was excellent with good choice. The owners are very pleasant and would certainly recommend this hotel. It is also walking distance to the castle.

Room Tip: Parking is difficult as is in public car park with a permit which gets very busy so no guarantee of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Property: Angus Hotel
Address: 14-16 Scotland Road | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel, situated just 10 minutes walk to Carlisle city centre. The building itself dates back to the 1850's, so has plenty of charm and character retaining many original features. It has undergone an extensive programme of refurbishment ensuring guests have all the modern facilities they require during their stay.If you are looking for hotel accommodation in Carlisle that provides exceptional friendly service, comfortable spotlessly clean rooms with modern facilities, free wi-fi, quality breakfasts, informal evening dining and is fully licensed then look no further.All bedrooms are tastefully styled and furnished, including flat screen TV's, free Wi-Fi and fully refurbished ensuite bathrooms. Every guest is assured of a warm and friendly welcome with a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing