We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal base to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Skipton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ideal base to stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely big bedrooms,with the new beds and fluffy pillows , no sleeping on sofa bed , this had 2 seperate singles for the children near the station , good base to visit the lakes and scotland, for those on a budget weatherspoons and subway nearby for breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    151
    72
    48
    43
See reviews for
98
153
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Arrived at 230pm wasn't able to check in until 3pm, receptionist was clueless didn't know whether he was coming or going. Have yet to find a HOTEL that doesn't have a car park, oh hold on this one doesn't! Strange. Receptionist couldn't direct us very well it didn't help his name badge being upside down I think that speaks volumes in itself..customer service! The carpets were dirty throughout the stairs and corridors, carpet in the room was covered in burn marks. Bedroom was very basic. Noisy early hours if morning with reveller coming in no consideration for others. The night receptionist was really nice he couldn't have been more helpful when I was looking for extra milk. Breakfast was disgusting it cost me £7.95 and all I had was half a slice of toast and a yoghurt. Buffet breakfast consisted of 5 very Luke warm rubber pieces, cutlery was dirty looking. Won't be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fclark221283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review Fclark221283. We expect a high level of service from our staff so it is regrettable to learn that you were unhappy with the service you received. Whilst there is not a car park at the hotel, parking is available nearby at the William Street and Cecil Street pay and display car parks. From the hotel, these are both a 200 yard walk along Cecil Street. We also require all areas of our hotels in addition to our rooms to be cleaned to our high standards and for all items and facilities to be well maintained. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Would highly recommend this Travelodge. Was an amazing price at only £29 for a double room which was much bigger and a lot nicer than expected. Really comfy bed and very clean. Would highly recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The one thing I remember and had a lasting experience on my stay at the hotel was not the building, the bed or otherwise. It was the customer service I recieved. The staff there greated me with smiles and were always willing to lend a helping hand. They knew about the surrounding area and services which was a big help. The guy I dealt with his name was lenny was exceptionally helpful. He printed maps of the surrounding area, told me the best places to go for food and etc. He didnt need to do this but it made my day that extra easier. I usually stay at travelodge but this one stay was my favourite because one guy made all the diffent. The hotel was superb and the tooms clean and comfy but lenny was the ingredient that tip the scales.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainmark212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a christening. The hotel.is centeral and is within walking distance from Carlisle railway station. The hotel is on a back street so it is very quiet as well. The room was basic, bed was very comfy, bedroom has a shower which again was basic.

Breakfast was basic as well but was all you can eat and this travelodge offer hot breakfast.

A couple.of little nags, when I arrived I got here before about half 1, and they werw going to charge me £10 to check in early, never ever has a hotel tried to charge me to check in early, every time I have stayed away from home, hotels have allowed me to check in early.

Also in other hotels.when I have requested to use an iron and ironing board hotel staff have brung them.upto the room, here yoy had to collect them.from reception yourself.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay_C85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed three nights with our 10 and 12 year old boys. Rooms very clean, spacious and ideal bed configuration with the two boys. All excellent! Well apart from their complaint that the tv wasn't directly in front of their beds!!
Breakfast in travelodge 'does as it says in the tin' and this was helped along by the helpful cheery staff who made sure there was ample fresh food at all times. Good value for us as kids eat free!
As said above staff all cheery and helpful, especially Alan who always seemed to be around to answer any questions we had.
As previously noted no parking for hotel but it is in a disk zone which you will get from reception. With going in and out during day this worked for us. We had noted a car park very nearby that was £4 for the day.
Plenty restaurants of all varieties very nearby!
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownOwlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for 2 days stay for our anniversary. Hotel was clean and tidy staff were friendly. Our room was clean, tidy, and well looked after . Its great value for money and central to everything. We hardly heard any noise would stay in again x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
1,033 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Carlisle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Carlisle Central

Property: Travelodge Carlisle Central
Address: Cecil Street, Carlisle 1NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Carlisle Central 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Carlisle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle
Travel Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Travel Lodge
Carlisle Travelodge
Travelodge Carlisle Central Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing