We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we had booked a family room as we were in the area for a family party. we weren't expecting much for the price but were amazed at the size of the room and the quality of everything. huge,comfy beds,hot drink making facilities,TV and a good sized bathroom with a bath.The girl on reception was friendly and so helpful- gave us advice about parking and checked on our needs every time we saw her.Would definately use Travelodge again based on this visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Janelikeseating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are just what you need for a flying visit and bed was comfy enough. Would we stay again? Yes. Already planning our next trip to Carlisle. One thing tho they all seem to be called Robert. Even the girls. Sorry a joke we had with the staff. :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This stop was booked via my mobile phone, most places being booked up North of the border, we chose the area, but we were taken aback by the spaciousness and comfortability of the family room, result.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank oj_samuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There is no need to diss this place. It is excellent value for money. it is excellent for travellers by train or bus, as it is so conveniently situated. There was no outside noise on our side of the building. The room was, as it always is at Travelodges in our experience, clean and warm. Everyone knows Travelodge is not a boutique hotel, it is good value plain and simple. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Travelodge have upgraded this hotel - partially. The bed lights are particularly ancient still. The bed is new - king size, but alas VERY squeaky. The pillows need a bit of use too, as they new and bulky. The worst thing is the new curtains, which look very snazzy, but they are thin and they are eyelet, so of course the light comes in early in the morning and some people don't like this at all. But overall, you can't beat Travelodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed twice recently. On the first occasion, we arrived late and our requested travel cot wasn't set up. We also didn't have any towels. On the second stay, the room smelled mouldy so we got moved. We complained on both occasions, but our complaints were dealt with with half-hearted apologies. It felt like the minimum was being done to keep us quiet. The hotel is generally quite dirty in the corridors. There is also no parking apart from the local on-street parking which has limited time slots. On the plus side, the receptions staff were welcoming at check-in and the rooms are comfortable. The town center is very close by too. It's also fairly cheap, fortunately.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank dunk1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Hotel was clean & comfortable but an enormous amount of noise came from the building work outside even during the night - metal drilling was coming from somewhere at 5.00am! The car park too far away from the hotel when you have suitcases to carry especially as there is no place to pull in to drop of bags - I had to park on a double yellow and hope for the best! The room was far too warm (it was a very sunny day) and remained that way as there was only one opening window in the room (the other was stuck!). This wasn't helped by the inch and a half that you could only open the window by for "safety". Better than the previous stay at a travelodge two years before where both my son and eye ended up in hospital with severe asthma attacks for reasons we still can't work out, but the amount of sleep was about the same!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank RichardMM500VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights earlier this month, the Room and hotel was spotless. Breakfast was ok, few issues when it's busy not very good having to wait for people to finish. It's only a few mins walk from the train station and the centre is about ten mins away. If I visit Carlisle in the future I will most def stay here

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Daveygrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Carlisle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Carlisle Central

Address: Cecil Street, Carlisle 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Carlisle Central 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Carlisle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle
Travel Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Travelodge
Carlisle Travel Lodge
Travelodge Carlisle Central Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing