We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hideaway”
Review of Pentonbridge Inn

Pentonbridge Inn
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 8/4
20:00
Ranked #34 of 325 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$104
Description: We use the very best produce foraged, grown, fished, farmed and caught from the land and sea around us, as well as fruit, vegetables and herbs from our own walled garden in Netherby Hall. From the kitchen we serve a menu of contemporary dishes expertly prepared by our team of chefs. No compromise is made with the ingredients or the execution. We also have local ale on tap, a huge range of expertly chosen wines to suit all tastes and budgets, a dartboard for amusement, a roaring fire to warm the cockles and a bowl of water for the dog.
Restaurant details
Description: We use the very best produce foraged, grown, fished, farmed and caught from the land and sea around us, as well as fruit, vegetables and herbs from our own walled garden in Netherby Hall. From the kitchen we serve a menu of contemporary dishes expertly prepared by our team of chefs. No compromise is made with the ingredients or the execution. We also have local ale on tap, a huge range of expertly chosen wines to suit all tastes and budgets, a dartboard for amusement, a roaring fire to warm the cockles and a bowl of water for the dog.
Reviewed 29 July 2019

We spent a delightful evening and night here on our way to Scotland. Our room was clean and comfortable with all mod cons and a few lovely extras like fresh biscuits. Mattresses were sublime and bedding was top quality. We had a good evening meal although the service was a little slow and an excellent breakfast. The staff were delightful and breakfast was top quality . The hotel has some dog friendly rooms which is why we chose it and we were all most comfortable.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank mtvgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2019

I was part of a group of 8 who stayed here for 2 nights. We all had a lovely welcome from Alison who showed us to our rooms. She pointed out the extras such as fresh flowers and strawberries from their own kitchen garden and fresh milk was available if required for the variety of teas and excellent coffee in the rooms. The toiletries were lovely too. The room was decorated to a very high standard with a lovely country touch. We ate in the Inn on both nights and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic with a great range to choose from and again excellent service. Ross, behind the bar, looked after us very well, was incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The weather was fantastic so we were also able to enjoy the beer garden too which looked onto lovely views. The location of the Inn is beautiful and you can see for miles - it was a great base to explore Hadrian's Wall and enjoy the roads on our motorbikes. Thank you to all of you. An excellent stay.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2019

Visited for a drink in the afternoon and returned for an excellent meal in the evening. Quality surroundings with friendly, welcoming staff. A particular mention for Katie who provided excellent service and for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2019

We were staying at a B&B up the road from this restaurant so it was the closest to come for a meal. So glad we did as had a fantastic meal. Place was lovely, we had a really nice table and I can imagine the cosy fires going in the colder weather. Thought the menu choice and size was just right. Food we had was excellent. For the quality and service I didn't think it was overpriced. Lovely big car park. Definitely recommend and hopefully return when next in the area.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbieRDeeb, Guest Relations Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2019

Hello NMcD,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased you decided to try us out and thrilled that we exceeded your expectations.
The fires are great in colder months, it really adds to the atmosphere and makes it extra cosy when you are looking out at the vast views across the Scottish hills.
Thank you for your comments regarding the food, we strive to serve the very best fresh, locally sourced ingredients, and thrive to give the best customer service to make sure our customers have a great experience.

The car park across the road has recently been completed, we grew out of the original car park pretty quickly!
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Spending a weekend in the Borders, we booked this for a Saturday evening dinner. Upon arrival it was clear that the pub had undergone recent refitting, extension and upgrading. Inside the interior was a mixture of modern and old reflected in the furniture and decor.
We chose to sit in the conservatory, which has spectacular views but with the setting sun in the west meant that one of the party had to request the blinds to be dropped. It also meant that the conservatory got very hot with both the heating and the suns radiation.
The staff are friendly and attentive albeit the denim aprons do resemble dungarees.
The menu is extremely restricted with just 5 main dishes to choose from. We both elected to go for the Fish and chips albeit my partner requested that mushy peas be swapped for garden peas.
The food arrived swiftly and was of good standard albeit I to expect mushy peas to be marrowfat peas rather than crushed garden peas.
With our meal we had one large glass of Sauvignon Bland and a lime & soda.
When the bill arrived the total was over £40. No starters, no desserts just two main courses and two drinks!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Airyhape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbieRDeeb, Guest Relations Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2019

Hello Airyhape,

Thank you for your review, we are always eager to hear how our guests enjoyed their experience.
Pentonbridge Inn has been open since October 2017, and did indeed go through an extensive refurbishment.
We particularly love the views from the conservatory too, and how you can look onto the Scottish hills In the distance, whilst being sat in England.
We hope the uniform gives the establishment a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.
Given the size of the establishment and how we work in partnership with the garden team at Netherby Hall, where we use the best grown produce from the direction of the head chef, our aim to have a menu that changes frequently and with the seasons, to give our customers the very best fresh ingredients, straight from the soil to produce a sumptuous meal.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and we were able to accommodate your request, and hope the explanation on the fresh produce is satisfactory.
We thank you again for taking the time to get in touch, and we pass all comments over to management to review.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pentonbridge Inn also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Pentonbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.