We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian food, mouth watering and beautifully presented every time without fail.”
Review of Gallo Rosso - CLOSED

Gallo Rosso
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian food, mouth watering and beautifully presented every time without fail.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you want a beautiful meal this is the place, satisfaction guaranteed. Every last detail from the butter in the shape of a rose, the handmade warm bread, the trio of desserts is made by one man, the owner. The kitchen is open so you can see the master at work. Amazing Sunday lunch with an Italian twist and reasonably priced. Over the years we must have been at least once every couple of months and we have never been disappointed large groups or romantic meals for two, if you enjoy good food then you will love gallo rosso.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good seafood”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I always like dining here. The daily specials are always my choice particularly the Fish and Seafood. Service very good. Drinks a bit pricey though

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I like this restaurant, I'm not sure why is rated so low, the food is very good and well presented , however I was really surprise they don't have Pizzas on the menu, choice is a bit limited.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Three of us enjoyed dinner here on Saturday evening.It is a beatifully appointed restuarant.We were welcomed in,sat down with a drink in the lounge area to browse the menu.The menu is very imaginative,lots to choose from.The table was nicely presented,the service was attentive and the food was very good.We all enjoyed three courses and retired to the lounge area to enjoy tea/coffees.We will return the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
288 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“assured quality”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

whether you want a quick bowl of the most delicious pasta, or a fancy italian gastronomique delight Gallo Rosso will not disappoint. Good service and an excellent chef: Guisseppe.
A favourite with our family

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallo Rosso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing