We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Retreat”
Review of Warwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Warwick Hall
Ranked #12 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have just returned from spending a weekend away with friends at Warwick Hall to celebrate a 50th birthday. Our party had the whole of the premisies which gave this a very special feel. Warwick Hall is beautiful; set in acres of land with the river Eden just metres from the terrace. We had a suite next to the 'rod room' which was beautiful. The food was delicious and to a very high standard. Throughout the stay we were supported by Val and her very attentive team.

Would love to return here again in the future. If you want a relaxing time away this is the place to go.

K Stanton, Essex.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
I really appreciate getting such a generous and positive review - thank you so much for taking the trouble to write in. You were a super house guest! Many thanks from everyone here.
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    34
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
103
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

When you enter the grounds to this hotel, the sheer beauty of it will take your breath away - the river Eden runs right through - it really is like the pictures on here! The rooms are large and comfortable - it's not like being in a hotel where things are so standardised and cold. Warwick Hall has a unique ambience which I think puts people at ease immediately, and it has a really interesting layout, but I don't want to give much more away than that! There is such a relaxed atmosphere, created by the owner Val - no strict times for breakfast - which will allow you a lie in! Just what you need on holiday! I can't wait to get the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowriThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your week-end. Lady Gaga certainly put Carlisle on the map for 24 hours! Thank you for making the effort to send in such a good review - we all love to hear about things going right - it's nice when people let us know they've noticed. Many thanks indeed.
Kind regards, Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

wonderful hotel, grounds and great hospitality. A must to visit .
sarah and Greg x

Room Tip: all rooms look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesssaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for doing this. Your kind comments (and boxes ticked) gave us a terrific score on the Trip Advisor scoreboard - thank you so much. I hope you'll get a chance to come back and see more of Cumbria.
Best wishes, and many thanks
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a festival this weekend, we had no previous experience of Carlisle or the local area so it was somewhat a pot luck choice. Well what can I say?-possibly the best choice ever! The owner-val-was a host of exceptional status, we were welcomed with enthusiasm and the customer service received by both her staff and herself was 5 star. The location was ideal for us (we were going to the airport) the gardens and views surrounding the hotel were beautiful, there had clearly been some thought given to the floral displays as the sight from our bedroom window was magical.
The staff were very attentive and helpful at all times. The suite we had was well furnished and planned out-it had everything you would need and expect in a small
Residence. I would recommend this hotel and will no doubt visit again should I visit Carlisle in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocarocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
It was quite a week-end wasn't it? You were all so intrepid - no amount of wind, rain or loudspeaker spoiled the mood. Thank you very much indeed for writing in to say such kind things about us - it's greatly appreciated.
Kind regards, Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Went for my 40th birthday party of 14 adults and had a fantastic time.The house is very lived in with a very relaxed atmosphere.The grounds are stunning and provide a lovely walk. We were left to feel like we had the whole house to ourselves but with the added luxury of being catered for,Nothing was too much troble.The hostess Val,offers a superb breakfast with everything on the table homemade.Highly recommended and hope to visit again for a home from home relaxing visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
I know how busy you are, so I really appreciate you're taking the trouble to write such a good review. It certainly was a jolly party - you all looked fabulous on Saturday night - the men in Black Tie and the women just plain glamourous. I love seeing the house full of people, using the rooms as they should be, with the champagne flowing and the buzz and chat in the candlelight. Many thanks for writing in,
Kind regards, Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent a a few days at Warwick Hall as a family holiday. We have already stayed in a few other stately homes; we choose our holiday venue carefully and have quite high expectations. Warwick Hall is an incredible place to stay and a few days was really not enough! The hall itself is a beautiful building and the rooms have been renovated to provide a sense of luxury. Despite its size, it is impeccably clean, to the very last inch in each room. Each bedroom has its own modern bathroom and there are 2 suites that include a sitting room too. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and we really felt almost as if it was our own home for a few days! The Hall looks out over landscaped gardens and the River Eden. The estate is enormous and fun to explore...walking in the woods, strolling by the river or lounging in the gardens. There is a hard surface tennis court and giant trampoline (the adults loved the former and the children loved the latter!). We had expected to explore some of the surrounding towns and countryside, as Cumbria is a lovely region, but we ended up just enjoying the whole experience of staying in this stately home. We just hired some bikes and went fishing nearby. The food is excellent and served in elegant surroundings in the sitting room or dining room. I would highly recommend this as a venue for a family or group of friends, of all ages, who are looking for a relaxing holiday in luxury surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupont_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Aren't you nice to do this for us? Thank you! It's such fun for us to have a happy jolly family group making the most of the house and the grounds - makes all the preparation feel worthwhile. Your family seemed to play games non-stop - tennis, croquet, cycling - a really dynamic clan! Thank you again for making the effort to write kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My husband and I recently visited my brother in Carlisle to celebrate his fortieth birthday-we wanted somewhere special to stay and Warwick Hall has the 'wow' factor. The host, Val Mariner, could not have been more accommodating. We were delighted to be offered a choice of rooms on arrival and in fact chose the 'Birdie room' with stunning views of the River Eden and grazing sheep-a true pastoral idyll. We additionally benefited from the unexpectedly exclusive use of the adjoining large suite and kitchen. Val is very generous in allowing the guests to use the whole accommodation within the house-in that, our lovely breakfasts were in one of the two dining rooms of the house and we were also invited to use the drawing room and look at the maps for our bicycle trips. We've stayed in many stunning places-from the Maldives to the Ritz- so we can say, with some cachet, that Warwick Hall is a lovely representation of beautiful England. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anonymity12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for sending this in - I'm so pleased your holiday was such a success. You really made the most of the fabulous weather, cycling for miles - just what Cumbria is for! I hope you'll get a chance to come again.
Kind regards
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.3 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hall

Property: Warwick Hall
Address: Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Hall Estate offers luxurious hotel accommodation two miles from Carlisle and the M6 at Exit 43 junction with the A69. Perfect for a stopover on the road north (dogs welcome!) or stay a while if you have time to explore Hadrian's Wall and the beautiful Border countryside. Private house parties are our specialty - it's what the house was built for. Take over the entire house with its nine en suite bedrooms for exclusive use. Delicious food, excellent wine, afternoon tea in front of roaring log fires, and everything done just as it should be. You'll find long beautiful walks on the estate right out the front door. Two miles of riverbank on the River Eden through ancient beech avenues, a huge walled garden, things to do, places to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Warwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hall Hotel Carlisle
Warwick Hall Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing