We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and excellent breakfast”
Review of Hawksdale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawksdale Lodge
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here in July with friends for one night. We were welcomed with tea and cake on arrival. The owners were very welcoming and coped well as there were 10 of us. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding with homemade muesli, sourdough bread and a delightful banana ring served with maple syrup. We would definitely recommend Hawkesdale lodge and would have liked to spend another night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A great place for a quick get away, the food delicious, hospitality second to none, accommodation so comfortable and beautiful you never want to leave, in fact I can't believe I did! Wonderful walks and country side too, it has it all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Lorraine and Martyn with smiles and warmth, cookies and cakes! The house itself is immaculate and has real character and sits in fantastic grounds. The view from our bedroom was idyllic and the sunrise in the morning coming over the hills was amazing. The room we stayed in was extremely spacious and decorated according to the style of the house, with its own bathroom which again was extremely spacious.

I'm imagining Lorraine may have been some sort of professional chef in a previous life because the food that was prepared for us was absolutely delicious. The breakfast will keep you going for days!

For the service you receive and for the sheer pleasure of staying in such a wonderful home with such wonderful people, the rate charged was an absolute bargain - I don't think anyone could complain with that at all.

This is without doubt the nicest place we have stayed. If only everywhere we stayed was as memorable as this. We would not hesitate to visit Hawksdale Lodge again should we have chance.

Thank-you Lorraine and Martyn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattjwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainejr, Owner at Hawksdale Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you Matt, I'm so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us at Hawksdale Lodge. It is very rewarding to hear that our guests really feel relaxed and just a bit pampered whilst they are here. The views are stunning aren't they, we never cease to admire them - in fact we can easily while away a significant amount of time just watching the ever changing light. We look forward to welcoming you back. kind regards, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

What a fantastic place to stay. A very relaxing stay and excellent host. The breakfast has the most amazing selection and the sausages are the tastiest I have ever had. Would recommend everybody I know or just meet in the street to stay there. Will never stay in another place within the vicinity of the Lake District.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilsfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainejr, Owner at Hawksdale Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for reviewing us. I'm really pleased you felt relaxed, we try hard to ensure we strike the right balance for our guests. The sausages are rather special aren't they, the local butcher who produces them specializes in selling meat produced on the surrounding farms, and very good it is too. In fact I often get asked to bring some sausages when we're invited to stay with friends! I Thank you again for the review and i hope we can welcome you back one day. Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2010

After a long journey from Cornwall we arrived later than planned.We were greeted warmly by Martin and Lorraine with a welcome drink.When we saw the apartment we were very pleased with the standard of accommodation and the effort they have put into the little touches and tasteful decoration.
Its and ideal location for the Lake District,Carlisle and easy access to the motorway.Dalston we found to be a quiet ,friendly village.
Highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric528878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My boyfriend and i had the most amazing stay at the Hawksdale Lodge last weekend. Lorraine and Martyn made us feel so welcome (they offered us a glass of wine we arrived at 10pm!) and the apartment is gorgeous.

It perfect for 2 couples - lots of space with everything you could wish for in your own apartment. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the shower amazing.

The hosts did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and even gave us a lift to the wedding we were attending.

The apartment is in the middle of the country and we were felt like we were miles away from the city. I would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This delightful bed and breakfast/self catering apartment can not be beaten in Cumbria.

We stayed in the self catering apartment, which was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and perfectly positioned to overlook the rolling countryside, while being no more than 15 minutes from Carlisle train station (some of us came by public transport).

Our hosts, Lorraine and Martyn, did everything in their power to make our stay as comfortable as possible, including driving us to the pub one evening, and leaving a welcome hamper of basics including home-grown eggs!

Situated on the Cumbrian Way, and just a few minutes drive from national parks, beautiful walks are not hard to find, and the wildlife comes right to your window.

I am sure the bed and breakfast would be of a similar quality, and would recommend Hawksdale Lodge to any couples, groups of friends and families alike.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodyWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
13.1 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
148 reviews
6.2 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksdale Lodge

Property: Hawksdale Lodge
Address: Hawksdale Lodge Hawksdale | nr Dalston, Carlisle CA5 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B and Self-Catering accommodation in a beautiful Victorian country house with stunning far reaching views, a perfect base for touring the Lake District and Hadrians Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawksdale Lodge Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing