We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FLAWLESS CUMBRIAN HAVEN”
Review of Hawksdale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawksdale Lodge
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUR FLAWLESS CUMBRIAN HAVEN”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I'm writing this review on behalf of our Australian relatives (Fay & Ross, Brisbane) who have just spent three nights here in the apartment at Hawksdale Lodge which has its own entrance accessed from the car park, thus allowing complete privacy. They very much appreciated the warmth and friendliness of Lorraine and Martyn's greeting; Lorraine's home baking and the fresh eggs and milk provided; the fully-equipped kitchen (the best they've seen in holiday accommodation) which has all the essentials for making a full meal - good quality wine glasses, excellent selection of crockery, cutlery, etc., - right down to the provision of dishwasher and clothes detergent. The Lodge is immaculately kept, has beautiful furnishings and every window has a glorious view. Everything you could wish for is provided without having to ask and even the rooster isn't let out until 8a.m., so as not to disturb your peace!

Hawksdale sits in beautifully maintained grounds amongst stunning countryside looking across to the Pennines and there are walks along the river at the bottom of the lane (wellies provided) where you can wander deeper into the countryside or to the village of Dalston, around one and a half miles, which has a good range of shops - grocery, butcher, baker, gifts - two pubs serving food, and a tea room.

If you're looking for friendly hosts, immaculate accommodation and stunning scenery, then look no further.

Room Tip: The apartment is excellent if you require complete privacy, having its own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent 2 nights here in the apartment while we explored my family's roots nearby. The apartment is beautifully appointed and has everything you could want, including an amazing view across the fields! Lorraine and Martyn offered us tea and delicious homemade cake on arrival - basic supplies such as eggs, milk, etc were provided in the apartment. On Lorraine's recommendation we had dinner the first night at the Royal Oak pub at Curthwaite -absolutely delicious! The second night we self-catered with rump steak bought at the local butcher - so good with local fresh veg, followed by fruit and Greek yoghurt. Would love to come again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Once again my girlfriends and I experienced the delightful decor, lovely location, fabulous food and above all the warm welcome of our hosts Lorraine and Martyn. This magical place never fails to enchant us and make a two night break seem like a month!
I cannot recommend Hawksdale Lodge highly enough though I feel I would like to keep it a secret so that it is never booked up when I want to visit.
This is a charming place run by two very charming people who clearly love what they do; from the freshly baked cakes on arrival to the biscotti in your room and the breakfast eggs produced by the chickens you can see in the garden in the morning it is perfection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mave202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay here, beautiful old house extremely well decorated and cosy.
Greeted with tea and Mince pies ( as it was close to Xmas).
Big rooms with comfy beds. Fantastic morning views out over fields with mountains in the distance.
Breakfast was one of the best I ve had made from local produce and freshly cooked.
Small touches like home cooked blueberry muffins for breakfast and the hosts would always go out of their way to help.
Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geddington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have recently returned from our stay at Hawksdale Lodge and felt compelled to write this review. On our arrival we were greeted by the Russell family, so friendly and warm we instantly relaxed. The next thing to hit our senses was the smell of freshly baked cake, which we were then duly offered along with a very welcome cup of tea (after our 5 hour drive). Our room was amazing, huge, luxurious and immaculate, the other rooms our children were staying, were equally impressive. The views from all the rooms were breathtaking. After a fab nights sleep we came downstairs to breakfast and what a breakfast it was, everything homemade and top quality. Normally I wouldn’t choose a B&B but took a gamble on Hawksdale Lodge and it really paid off. They also have a luxury 2 bedroom apartment to rent we took a look at during our stay, equally as lovely, but now have a dilemma do we return to the B&B or book the apartment?

Room Tip: The room was amazing, huge, luxurious and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed here with my two friends after a long wet day supporting our team doing the coast to coast cycle ride. After a welcome cup of tea in the stunning gardens Lorraine settled us into the apartment which was beautiful and extremely comfortable. After a delicious breakfast we were relaxed and ready to face anything on the next day en route (although we were tempted to stay). Thank you Lorraine and Martyn for taking such good care of us. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a stay at this lovelly guest house as what can be described as excellent.

From the moment we all arrived and being greeted by Lorraine & Martin and served coffee and homemade cakes until the morning of our departure we all felt that they were the most perfect hosts.

They offer attentive service and are clearly very proud off the experience they offer.

The views from the deck which takes in the distant hills of the Scottish Borders is panoramic.

We stayed in the red room which was very spacious and bright with the biggest bed we have ever seen.

It goes without saying that we would love to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
13.1 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
148 reviews
6.2 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksdale Lodge

Property: Hawksdale Lodge
Address: Hawksdale Lodge Hawksdale | nr Dalston, Carlisle CA5 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B and Self-Catering accommodation in a beautiful Victorian country house with stunning far reaching views, a perfect base for touring the Lake District and Hadrians Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawksdale Lodge Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing