We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go when there is an event on - We met King John”
Review of Carlisle Castle

Carlisle Castle
Ranked #6 of 48 things to do in Carlisle
Attraction details
Manchester England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go when there is an event on - We met King John”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

As one of the other reviewers commented the castle itself is well kept but sparse. On the other hand it is very conveniently situated, built as it was in the middle of a particularly attractive small city and next to a handy car park.

What made our visit was the performance of King John and his valet. They stayed in character all through their show. We felt like we got a real insight into the man himself.

When I had a particularly tricky question of the valet (about the murder of John's nephew), he insisted we move to a quieter space away from the king, so we couldn't be overheard. It made the trip worthwhile.

I think they've got Richard the Third coming soon but unfortunately we are away.

So well done actors you changed the average to the very good and memorable!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidbailey260365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    291
    154
    31
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a castle”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

You could spend a few hours walking round the castle, but there is not really anything to see. Unfortunately the museum/exhibition room,was not ready for viewing which may of helped the £5.50 worth the visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olsbigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
379 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice well kept castle, but sparse”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As an English heritage member entrance here for the family was free, so don't feel as agrieved as some of the recent reviewers but I agree that the amount of information was lacking and most of the rooms were indeed empty, the walk sound the catle wall was probably the best bit, and would have liked to have seen the military museum but it was clsed

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Carlisle Castle”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Good place to spend some leisure time, taking a stroll through the grounds and up on to the battlements. Only issue was that the military museum was closed for refurbishment, due to reopen in September.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank phlburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice piece of history”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I always like to frequent English heritage places and this was just as good. Could do with more information to read about the castle (as the guides were not very forthcoming with information! )

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlisle Castle also viewed

 

Been to Carlisle Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing