We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic weekend in lovely accommodation with excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornerhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“fantastic weekend in lovely accommodation with excellent staff!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

stayed in the 4 poster room. was very clean. beautiful breakfast freshly cooked. staff was friendly and very helpful. excellent value for money. I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_l_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    45
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
47
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had no problems whatsoever whilst staying at this little hotel, it was relatively cheap which suited us well as we were only staying over one night whilst stopping of for a bit of sightseeing in the city (whilst walking Hadrian's wall). The room was pretty basic, quite small with the toilet set up in a small wooden partition within the bedroom. the shower cubicle was in the bedroom rather than separate so not much privacy but other than that we couldn't fault it. Bed was comfortable, food was great, staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandBeccaNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband and I needed a B&B overnight stop in Carlisle and found this one online.
We were met by the very friendly proprietor who showed us to our room - a well proportioned ensuite corner room with complimentary tea and coffee and toiletries.
Spotlessly clean.
Parking is 'off road', ie, outside a row of terraced houses - and a paid parking ticket is issued for your vehicle.
Very reasonable price.
We were asked for our breakfast requirements and time.
We enquired about eating places (in addition to the two pubs one on each side of the entrance road). We were advised that there were plenty of restaurants in town and set out to find them.
We were not disappointed. We found the Chinese 'all you can eat' Buffet - and very good value it was too.
Breafast was a very good full English.
On our return journey from Scotland we needed a further emergency overnight stop so rang the mobile number given; the proprietor was pleased to say that he had a spare room (our first room) so went back and stayed again.
We had already booked again (and the same room) when we are passing again end of August.
This particular evening we visited an Italian restaurant further along the road in a crescent. Another very good meal.
The proprietor and his staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a corner room and therefore 'double aspect' with the bathroom door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizliz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was in Carlisle for a university interview with my mother and grandmother and found this place online. I was very impressed when we arrived! Staff were very friendly throughout our stay and could not have been more helpful, even when we had problems with our shower in the evening they were straight up to help us and couldn't have been nicer. Room looked like it had just been done up and was very spacious, this was one of the few places I had found that gave us three beds instead of just a single and double. Very clean hotel throughout and a lovely hearty breakfast in the morning. Lovely place, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Room clean with ensuite shower, bed comfortable and breakfast delicious. Friendly welcome and staff pleasant and attentive at breakfast time. Short walk into town centre and on a Friday evening felt quite safe walking back.
Everything we needed for an overnight stay at a very reasonable price and would book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

ok what can i say which is good about the room in which we stayed in ummm nonthing. what was wrong with it well lets start and ill be short it was a full on shoe box of a room, when getting into bed we both started to ich due to the bed sheets ( not fun ), when flushing the loo it was backing up through the sink and shower. as for breakfast well food was cold and mold was in the mug so over all not good at all i should of gone to the hotel just up the road.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianviney1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel was great! The rooms spacious, breakfast (cooked fresh) was huge and delicious and the room very good value at only £45.. We'd paid almost as much at hostels for 2 people. The walk into town only took 5 minutes and we felt completely safe and there we lots of places to find dinner. Had to phone reception to get in when we arrived but everything else was great.. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerhouse Guesthouse

Property: Cornerhouse Guesthouse
Address: 2-4 Grey Street, Carlisle CA1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cornerhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerhouse Guesthouse Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing