We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fern lee guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lee Guest House
Ranked #13 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

just had a one night stay at the fern lee guest house and it was a really pleasant stay .on arrival we were greeted by the land lady who took us to our room and the room was really really nice spotlessly clean .bedding ,towels etc. we asked the land lady about places to go in the city and she was very knowledgeable about the city , the next time that myself and my wife are back in Carlisle we will be definitely be staying here.
Paul & Liz (Whitehaven)

Room Tip: smashing breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wizzmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your nice review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and hope to see you again sometime. Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the Fern Lee on the final leg of my trip hiking Hadrian's Wall. It was actually chosen for me by my tour operator but Because I met with several other hikers I was able to compare the offerings, this one was an excellent value.

A very enjoyable experience located near all the sites (& path). I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank themattroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie A, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your great review, it's good to know we are getting things right, hope to see you again sometime although you will have to gen up on english television programmes this time in preparation for the Beehive quiz night. Regards, Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend, and can't recommend it enough. Our hosts Mark and Debbie were very welcoming and could not do enough to help, we spent a night at the Beehive Pub which is just a short walk away and had a great night. The rooms were lovely and could not fault the full English Debbie cooked us. Will definitely stay here again.
Many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie A, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your great review Neil, it was lovely to meet you and your wife and I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast so much. Take care. Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was very good. The room was clean as was the bathroom. We needed a room with one double & one single bed. They were full except for the single room. They were very helpful in locating another room for my sister and brother-in-law only 2 blocks away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie A, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in England. All the best, Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here last week for one night and were very happy with the place.
The owners had only moved in themselves a few days earlier but were extremely accommodating and friendly. I can't imagine moving house and having to deal with guests!
The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie A, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we have tried our best to ensure that an excellent service is still provided even though we are in the early stages of taking over the guest house. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you at Fern Lee again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 407giampieroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank victor240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.2 mi away
Cornerways Guest House
Cornerways Guest House
#3 of 61 in Carlisle
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#6 of 61 in Carlisle
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Cherry Grove Guest House
#29 of 61 in Carlisle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,047 reviews
1.8 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lee Guest House

Address: 9 St. Aidans Road, Carlisle CA1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: £84 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Lee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Lee Guest House is owned and run by Debbie and Mark Armstrong, Fern Lee offers bed and breakfast accommodation in a delightful Victorian property which is well deserving of its 4 Star Visit England Silver Award. We are located in the centre of the historic city of Carlisle with easy access from Junction 43 of the M6 Motorway. The Carlisle railway station and main bus station are only a few minutes walk away. English, Continental or Vegetarian Breakfast is included made from the finest local produce. Short walk to Hadrian's Wall Trail, Riverside Walks, Stonyholme Golf Course, The Sands Centre, College/University and the historic attractions of Carlisle. Lots of excellent restaurants and bars nearby to choose from. Free parking on site. Secure cycle storage. Drying facilities. Books and games available for guest use. Famous Gretna Green - 20 minutes drive away. Lake District National Park - 30 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Lee Guest House Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing