We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lee Guest House
Ranked #12 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Aubin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I knew when I was booking that I was going to enjoy this guest house and I was right. So relaxing in our spacious room. Clean, tidy and warm with a comfy bed. The breakfast was brilliant too. Thank you to Debbie and Mark and we will see them soon as we have booked again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 321LisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, it's good to know that our efforts are noticed and appreciated and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
66
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. It was old but comfortable and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The guest lounge was similarly comfortable. We sought information about getting an evening meal and were directed to the golf club, and easy walk down the road. There we had an excellent meal. The breakfast in the morning was just fine and we left well satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your nice review, I am pleased you were mostly happy with your stay and our recommendations.
Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for only one night but would definitely go back when I am next in Carlisle. Great B&B, lovely clean and comfy rooms and brilliant breakfast. Hosts Debbie and her husband where very friendly and run a really lovely B&B. Thanks Laraine

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you Laraine for such a nice review. I am really pleased that you felt comfortable here and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our walk along Hadrian's Wall. We were very well looked after with tasty breakfasts and comfy beds. We were even given a lift to our start spot in Bowness-on-Solway! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your good review, I am glad you felt well looked after during your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This B & B was great com start to finish. The decor, the food, the comfort, the wonderful proprietors and the close proximity to all facilities ans places of interest. It was very easy to get around the town and to the Museum, Castle and Hadrian's Wall.

Room Tip: All are upstairs however all great rooms with ensures. WiFi not goos in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your nice review, I am sorry that the Wi-Fi connection was not strong enough in your room, we have been doing some work in this area recently and I am pleased to say, it´s now up to full strength around the whole house. For information, we do actually have a bedroom on the ground floor, it is a large room with a superking bed and large en suite which makes it ideal for those with walking difficulties. Thanks again for your comments. Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Carlisle was the last destination of our trip to lake district. We chose Fern Lee as our base and stayed there for 3 nights. Before we arrived, Debbie had made a phone call to ask the estimated arrival time. When we reached, Debbie gave us a nice welcome and show us around the room. What we got is a double ensuite on top floor (room 7), it was well decorated, spotless and had everything we need. Still water and delicious biscuits were offered everyday. The breakfast was fabulous, and always was a good start of the day. And i like the lounge on the ground floor very much. Elegant, spacious,warm, really enjoyed the time sitting there.
Debbie is considerate, nice and friendly hostess.we are glad to have chosen fern lee and will be back again. Highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, it means a lot to us that you were pleased with all aspects of your stay here. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

just had a one night stay at the fern lee guest house and it was a really pleasant stay .on arrival we were greeted by the land lady who took us to our room and the room was really really nice spotlessly clean .bedding ,towels etc. we asked the land lady about places to go in the city and she was very knowledgeable about the city , the next time that myself and my wife are back in Carlisle we will be definitely be staying here.
Paul & Liz (Whitehaven)

Room Tip: smashing breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wizzmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your nice review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and hope to see you again sometime. Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lee Guest House

Property: Fern Lee Guest House
Address: 9 St. Aidans Road, Carlisle CA1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Lee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Lee Guest House is owned and run by Debbie and Mark Armstrong, Fern Lee offers bed and breakfast accommodation in a delightful Victorian property which is well deserving of its 4 Star Visit England Silver Award. We are located in the centre of the historic city of Carlisle with easy access from Junction 43 of the M6 Motorway. The Carlisle railway station and main bus station are only a few minutes walk away. English, Continental or Vegetarian Breakfast is included made from the finest local produce. Short walk to Hadrian's Wall Trail, Riverside Walks, Stonyholme Golf Course, The Sands Centre, College/University and the historic attractions of Carlisle. Lots of excellent restaurants and bars nearby to choose from. Free parking on site. Secure cycle storage. Drying facilities. Books and games available for guest use. Famous Gretna Green - 20 minutes drive away. Lake District National Park - 30 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Fern Lee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lee Guest House Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing