We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Sycamore Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Tree
Ranked #14 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night and yes we were made welcome but I'm afraid the smell of cooking in the bedroom from the restaurant below put me off along with the crushed sheets on the bed. However the people were very nice as was the breakfast and it's obvious they put a lot of time and effort into their business. Nice little touches.

Room Tip: Black and White room very noisy from heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights before a wedding, the chap that greeted us when we arrived was thoroughly lovely and accommodating. The breakfast was awesome, with no expenses spared on making sure we were well looked after. Definetly somewhere that we would stay again as we found room to be very clean and excellent for amenities provided.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here on August 3 and left on August 6th. When we arrived we had a warm welcome and were shown to our room. A beautifully decorated room with comfortable beds and a tray with tea and coffee And a big fan with remote control.A big tv made the evenings more pleasurable. We ate one evening in the restaurant and enjoyed it. Breakfast was great aswell and plenty of it. The location is good for touring both north lakes and Dumfries area where we were surprised what we could do. We would stay here again and definitely recommend it. All in all a great stay and good price!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcoxhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You are made to feel welcome here from the moment you arrive. The service is friendly, prompt and faultless. We were served sandwiches at 10pm when we arrived and breakfast was whenever we asked. We also enjoyed an evening meal at short notice on our second night. The room is without doubt one of the finest we have stayed in. On one occasion we saw a couple who were staying at a B&B down the road come in for their breakfast. It appears that breakfasts at the Sycamore Tree are are legendary. In Carlisle we asked two young men the way to the station. It turned out that they lived in Longtown, and they began to sing the praises of the Sycamore Tree breakfasts. At that stage, we hadn't even told them we had stopped there. Thank you to our host John for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Leave John to find the most suitable room. He won't let you down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Booked this B & B as we were attending a family wedding near by. The rooms are spotless and beautiful, we stayed in the modern room. The beds are really comfy and has all the facilities needed for a few nights stay. The owner was very nice and he made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was really good and included in the price. It is excellent value for money and I wouldn't definitely come to stay here again if i was visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCH1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked this B & B for a wedding we were going too. I can't fault the reception we received from the Owner. The rooms are stunning & everything you could ask for was in the room. We were gutted we didn't get to stop long because we were running between wedding revenues. We were made to feel so welcome & the Owner went out of his way to talk to us as we were running in & out. The serving staff were a credit. We were surprised that the price we paid included breakfast & what a breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B & if fact we want to come back to make the most of the hospitality. From what we saw of the Cafe part, it looked great & food smelt delicious. I hope to come back in a couple of months. From the Hurley Family 30/03 13

Room Tip: My Husband & I had the 4 poster room which is stunning, My Daughter & her Boyfriend had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were delayed by three hours on the motorway, but our host was very laid back and our table was kept for us. Rooms are very well designed and spotless, and although you can hear the noise from the cafe, that stops by about 10pm latest, so we slept well.
The food was very generous and well priced, especially the steak night offer. Breakfast was superb and so big we didn't need lunch that day. The cafe atmosphere was nice, didn't feel like you were in someone's "home", which I dislike about some B and B's.
Will definitely use again

Room Tip: The four poster bed room is quieter, as only one window, so less road noise, but both rooms have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
8.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,428 reviews
8.1 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,044 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#6 of 61 in Carlisle
190 reviews
11.7 mi away
String of Horses Inn
String of Horses Inn
#2 of 61 in Carlisle
496 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Tree

Address: 40-42 Bridge Street | Longtown, Carlisle CA6 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sycamore Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sycamore Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Tree Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing