We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad overnight stay but turn the heating on” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad overnight stay but turn the heating on”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for one night which cost me £40. Staff were helpful on check in, assisted with an earlier check in. Room was a very good size. Comfortable bed however some maintenance issues require to be addressed to save this hotel from going downhill. Some parts required freshened up. Went to sleep and woke up really cold during the night - old style windows and didn't check the radiator to make sure it was on!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daren777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    94
    116
    80
    119
See reviews for
33
163
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Prices are high for what you get, breakfast extra!! Thinnest quilt more like an old fashioned throw!! No heating on spent a cold uncomfortable night will not stop there again. Staff on arrival rather miserable, not what you want when you are using their facilities and they want you to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and had a nice experience, very friendly and helpful staff, warm rooms, nice bed and a great shower. But. The old place has been run down, and it seems it is getting a slow but sure improvement plan implemented.
In places the carpet is brand new, in others worn out. Curtains are all new but the floor boards are creaky and a bit loose in places. But, it was good value, and had enough positives to let you know its OK really
Breakfast was good enough, plentiful, but basic.
Safe and secure parking to the rear of hotel.
Overall, good hotel, well positioned in the heart of town centre, and all you want if your just in need of a good bed, shower and breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 222 was perfect for views and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrparnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My heart sank on first sight of the County Hotel. The entrance is terrible, old rusting canopy and horrible floor covering. Inside old world faded tired but ok. Easy check in to room 107, beware the lift has an external steel door that will CLANG shut behind you if you don't control it. Interesting folding 2 part door inside the lift, never seen this before. Room reasonable single, 3/4 size bed shower over bath with soap etc. Ancient floors creak. Buffet breakfast all you need with tea & toast served to you. Seemed to be mainly workmen or single travellers but great value for the £36 per night I paid!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

As last year when we stayed here we were given a friendly welcome, it was so nice to be back! Though we had arrived earlier than the" book in time" we only had to wait a few minutes for our room to be ready for us. We were on a four night break to celebrate our birthdays. After settling our things in our room, we went out of the front door of the hotel and crossed the road to the railway station to find out about the times of the Carlisle-Settle train which we planned on going on while staying here. To our delight there was a steam train in! It was on a private hire. The County Hotel is so very conveniently located for the city centre, restaurants, pubs and the Vue cinema is just a few minutes walk away. It was nice to meet Carl the assistant manager and Gary again. They are both so eager to help make your stay to be as perfect as possible. This hotel also has free car park at the rear and entry via the backdoor to the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: For a good nights sleep away from the noise of the nightlife choose one at the back. For views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times and have been delighted with my stay and have found the staff very helpful, will be going back in April, this is my first chioce hotel and i would recomend to any one visiting Carlisle and wants to be central to stay here.

Room Tip: ask for one of the named rooms. (corner suites)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked 7 twin rooms and a single for friends overnight stay
Reception was great on arrival and the free wifi a bonus
All 15 of us had no complaints about the various rooms...only the front ones a bit noisy from the street..but what can you expect in a city centre hotel.
Breakfast was good value and the staff very attentive

Only let down was the tv system...only 4 basic channels....and Im A SKY NEWS ADDICT
All in All good value for the money

Room Tip: Rear rooms for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 9 Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful listed building, the non smoking County Hotel still retains its Georgian Grandeur as well as providing modern spacious accommodation, free wireless internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and conference facilities. Situated in the heart of Carlisle, this 3 star hotel overlooks the splendid twin towers of King Henry VIII's historic Citadel and is opposite the railway station. With 2 miles from junction 43 on M6 the hotel is an ideal base for exploring nearby Gretna, north Cumbria and the Lake District. Open daily for breakfast and dinner the Gallerie Restaurant offers a choice of a la Carte or table d'hote menus, complemented by a good selection of wines and liqueurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing