We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, food not.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at the Premier Inn (9 of us with 7 bikes and 2 trailers) and despite being a large group we were seen to swiftly and the bikes safely stored. The room was slightly disappointing, it was advertised as a double and a twin, well the second twin bed was a mattress on the floor! Nonetheless, the shower was hot and the room was clean.

After getting ready we went for some food. Being a big group we expected a wait so we sat in bar to wait for a table. When we were seated the waitress explained that there would may be a delay as a big group had just ordered food. This delay turned into over an hour and a half for food! They did bring the children's food out sooner, however even that wasn't quick, was over an hour wait! When the food did arrive, the sides did not come, and one of the adult meal was forgotten about. Upon receiving the adults food, we asked if the children could have some free ice cream as they were getting restless. This did not come and had to be asked for again.

Yes it was busy, however that service was unacceptable. We wish we had gone to McDonald's, would have been cheaper and at least the wait would have been quicker!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaBrabazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed for 1 night as an emergency stop over, the location is great for access to the M6, I did think £78 was top end for a Premier Inn on a Tuesday night, considering I booked in at 5 and that they only had twin rooms available.
The corridor to my room is a bit tatty but my room was very clean & the shower was immaculate and powerful.
I had the meal deal for dinner, £22.99 for 3 courses, including a beer, and breakfast too, thanks to Steve for his great service.
Breakfast is good too and plenty of it if you are hungry.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I’m sorry to hear that you felt the rate was too high, our rates reflect our occupancy levels therefore they do increase on busier nights. The best rates can be found by booking in advance at premierinn.com. I’m delighted that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your meal deal, I’ll certainly pass on your kind comments to Steve. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Only stayed one night, the staff were lovely and most apologetic that our room booking was not correct. Food good. Rooms very basic in need of a refit. Not awful but not as good as it could be........



  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet with your usual expectations for Premier Inn, we are in line for a refurbishment in the near future which will certainly improve this. On the other hand I’m pleased that you found the team friendly and that you enjoyed your meals in the Thyme Restaurant. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I must admit check in and room were fine, never had a problem with either at any premier inn. I run a UK sales team and personally set up a premier inn business account for all the sales team, as I have said I personally up until now have rated premier inn as a good all round product for business, until now. The most regular complaint from my employees has been the food / service and until now I have found it difficult to comprehend.
After two days at the premier inn Livingston I made my way down to Carlisle j44, I didn't arrive until gone 8pm so straight to the room for a shower before a much needed evening meal. The restaurant was busy and I ambled up to the entrance at 8.55 expecting a wait , the manager asked me if I had booked and I said no but I was hoping I could get in and was happy to wait. He told me I would have to give him 5 minutes and if I wanted to go to the bar area he would come down to me very shortly.
To cut a long story short he came past me 3 times in the next 30 minutes, smiled but didn't say a word. Finally at 8.40 I asked him how long I would have to wait because I was extremely hungry, answer was sorry I forgot about you and restaurants now closed, off he went. I walked over to reception and asked what time the restaurant stopped serving and was told 10pm with last orders a 9.45. I explained what had gone on and I got a sigh from the girl on front desk which relayed to me as oh no, not again!
If you don't book here, expect to be treated badly, I am absolutely flabbergasted as to how I have been treated and have written this review at 10pm on the night.
Premier Inn you are now under review and if you have problem staff, take complaints seriously as I should have.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paula-Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am very sorry to hear of your experience, this certainly isn't the standards we aim for. I would greatly appreciate if you could email the food and beverage manager on f&bmgrcarlisle.pti@whitbread.com so that we can investigate this incident further.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A very pleasant stay. The staff and service were excellent.
This hotel has a Bible in every bedroom which I found very helpful helpful and refreshing.
If you want a quiet stay with good facilities then this is the Premier in for you.




  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found we delivered an excellent service and good facilities. You’ll be pleased to hear that it is company policy to provide a bible in every room so you will find this across all of our Premier Inns. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As always, each time we stay here the Reception staff make us feel very welcome. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and warm. Never really consider staying anywhere else when coming to Carlisle. Generally very quiet and we sleep well. Like the 12 noon check out. We usually check out before but good to know there's no rush!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 266Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a second review for our Premier Inn. I am delighted that you are always warmly welcomed at reception and you find your rooms clean and comfortable. I do agree- it’s always nice to have the option of a nice long lie in! It’s lovely to hear that we are your first choice of accommodation when you visit Carlisle and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Second time i have stayed at this Premier inn, comfortable rooms as you come to expect from Premier Inns,the meals were very good. I would also like to comment on the staff who could not have been more helpful extremely well mannered and efficient and a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. The team work extremely hard to ensure we deliver a great service for our guests and it’s wonderful to read your kind comments about them. I am also pleased that you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed your meal. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
674 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing