We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Premier Inn”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I Have stooped at this Premier inn on a few occasions and as other reviews state don't be put of by the exterior, because once in the room it's nice. The staff are helpful and friendly and the Thyme restaurant is good with friendly staff. The bar area is also large and staff helpful.
If you don't want to use the restaurant there are plenty of other places to go near the Hotel.

However going back to the exterior the sight of over flowing litter bins and the litter/cigarette trough at the entrance is not appealing.
Surely somebody in management have seen this, and could purchase an adequate cigarette bin!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sparky-ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m delighted that you found the team helpful and friendly and your room clean and comfortable. I’m sorry to see that the exterior of the hotel was in such a mess when you stayed, this is unacceptable and certainly not the standards we aim for. Please be assured that this will be investigated and I will ensure that the outdoor area is checked and cleaned more regularly, particularly during this current busier period. I hope that this has not deterred from staying with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    383
    173
    67
    35
See reviews for
325
417
54
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Carlisle Premier Inn which was off the motorway junction. It looks really old and depressing from the outside - seems like an old hotel that they took over - though there was ample parking available. The hotel seemed busy but service was quick and we were checked into our room promptly. To access our room, we had to go down a flight of stairs to what seemed like a basement, so it felt a bit like going into a bunker. The room was the standard Premier Inn offering - very comfy mattress! Bath and shower facilities were as it has been - still love the curved shower curtain rail! There was a hairdryer, which was good, though I do wish decaf coffee would be offered as part of the drinks selection! The room seemed generally clean, though I did find quite a large piece of plastic on the floor so wonder what cleaning was done. As we were pretty tired we didn't venture out and just stayed in to watch TV. For some reason the default time setting on the TV was an hour behind which really confused us when we turned it on. Despite resetting the time using the 'auto' selection, it was back to the way it was the next morning. There was quite a lot of running up and down the corridor which was annoying, but this was before bedtime and our sleep wasn't disrupted. Upon leaving, the young man at reception checked how everything was - which is a nice touch. At most Travelodges, you would be lucky to see any staff when you're leaving!! We will certainly be staying at Premier Inn again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You are quite right, we are not a purpose built Premier Inn but I am delighted that we met with your expectations despite your initial impressions of the building. I’m pleased that you were checked in promptly and that you found your room clean and comfortable although I’m concerned to hear about the floor, this certainly isn’t our usual standards. I’ll also ask our maintenance team to check the television settings, thank you for informing me about this. Our team really care about ensuring we deliver on our good night guarantee which is why you will be always be asked about your stay on check out. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the outside the building looks tired and out of date, but that is where it stops. Having just stayed the night 15/5/14, the room was tidy and comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. The staff are very attentive and cheerful and you actually feel they are going that extra mile to make your stay more pleasant. We had something to eat in the Thyme restaurant and the food was delicious, I had chicken wings followed by one of the best chicken burgers I have ever had and YES I did taken them up on the offer of 2 courses for £12.95, what a bargain.

Thank you to all the staff keep up the good work and to those who are paying for a premier Inn but expecting 5* quality, be realistic.

For those of you who read this and think, he has never stayed somewhere nice before you cannot be further from the truth. I have stayed all over the world and do expect a hotel to be comfortable, but most importantly I expect value for money and this is what you get here.

Stayed May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for our Premier Inn. I am delighted that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your evening meal in our onsite Thyme Restaurant. I’ll certainly pass on your exceptionally kind comments to the team, we work very hard to ensure we deliver a great service to our guests and it’s always lovely to see this recognised. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Cant complain comfy beds, great sleep and quiet rooms so great for family's. To get to you rooms 300+ are confusing as it is on the first floor but lots of signs telling you how to get to your rooms. very happy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtneyicnat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you were very happy with your stay with us and that you found your room quiet and comfortable and had a great nights sleep. I do agree that our room numbers can be quite confusing, particularly the family corridor however we are awaiting new signage which should help avoid any confusion. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Basic Premier Inn, old buildings...ex Swallow and ex Holiday Inn. NO LIFTS. I booked for one night online but didn't notice the 'No Lift'. Our room on second floor, so to get there DOWN one then UP three flights with luggage. I'm 70 years old....
Restaurant : Dinner... only two waiters. Waited 20 minutes for service. Complaint fell on deaf ears. ..Staff shortage.... Well we knew that...Rooms tiny..I rang prior to arrival and requested a blanket and top sheet on bed as duvets too heavy and warm. Told that would be ok. On arrival duvet on bed. Told they don't have blankets....Won't be back and am sharing this on fb even if I have to cut and paste....

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fergiedee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staying at a Premier Inn can be a fairly safe bet although some of their acquired hotels can not quite reach the modern standards. This one certainly looks grotty from the outside but on entering the reception you a greeted by a very pleasant team. The older gentleman on reception was up to the usual high standard of Premier Inn staff, welcoming, friendly, helpful and extremely informed about the Carlisle area and what it has to offer.

The rooms were clean and tidy, some of the fittings were getting on a bit in the bathroom but everything worked as it should done and was clean.

The only slight gripe was the barman looked like he was waiting for the world to end, it doesn't hurt to smile at the punters!

Overall a good one night stay with the experience you would expect from a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger064st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am pleased that you were not put off by our external appearance and that you found your room clean and comfortable. I am delighted that you were warmly welcomed at reception and you found the team friendly and helpful although I am sorry that one of our team members fell below our usual very high standards. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Received a warm friendly welcome from reception on arriving, who kindly reserved us a table at their in-house restaurant 'Thyme'.

Our room '128' was very easy to find and was immaculately clean.

Bed was very comfortable, although we found the room to be very warm during the night. Opening the window meant very noticeable road noise, but this is to be expected with the close proximity to the motorway.

Had a wonderful meal in the 'Thyme' restaurant, with my husband saying his burger being one of the tastiest he has ever eaten!!
The Premier Breakfast at £8.75 was very good value with a huge array of choices.

Above all, we found ALL the staff members we encountered to be most friendly and helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable.
Would not hesitate in staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chocolateandlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. We do operate a good night guarantee with Premier Inn which we strive to achieve by providing clean and comfortable rooms, a helpful and friendly team and great quality food in our Thyme restaurant. It’s great to hear that we delivered this for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
9.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing