We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was OK, the rest needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was what you expect at a Premier Inn, but the public areas are in need of an update / makeover. Got a good night's sleep, which was the main requirement. We had breakfast this time as iot was included in the deal, but usually it is overpriced unless you can eat a huge amount.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm pleased that we delivered on our guarantee and you had a good nights sleep. We are due a refurbishment in the near future which I am confident will vastly improve the corridors and public areas. We do offer a fantastic value meal deal which you may wish to consider if you stay with us again at Junction 44, this includes a 2 course evening meal, a drink and a premier breakfast all for just £22.99.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Like so many others who have reviewed the hotel, i was not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are of a good standard and are nice and clean. I didn't have dinner in the restaurant but did have breakfast in the morning. The standard of breakfast served was quite acceptable and better than some higher "starred" hotels that I have stayed in. I think that £85 for B&B was perhaps a little steep for the area when other hotels offer additional facilities like gyms etc... but overall a good night's sleep in a pleasant venue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm delighted that you were pleasantly surprised by us and found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed a good breakfast in the morning. Keep an eye on premierinn.com for the great value £29 rooms, there are plenty available throughout the year! We hope to welcome you back to Junction 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Well, this is a motorway stop off hotel so it would be unreasonable to have great expectations! It is clean, with the basic facilities you would expect, except for air conditioning. We had two fans and the window open but were still sweltering! But on the plus side the food was great!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Chris4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm pleased that you found your room clean and enjoyed your meals in our restaurant. We are not a purpose built Premier Inn so our rooms are not air conditioned however our housekeeping team are dedicated in ensuring the rooms are kept as cool as possible during this exceptionally warm weather. Unfortunately these temperatures are not the norm for Cumbria! We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the best Premier Inn I have stayed at and that is mostly down to the excellent food and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable , however, we were a long long way from reception and the corridors are really shabby, tired and sorry a bit smelly at one point. If you have mobility issues ask for a room not too far from the main reception as this hotel is really spread out. The food we were served, by we were told a new young chef, was excellent. We had the steaks which were cooked to perfection and the breakfast the next morning was of an equally high standard. i would definitely return to the hotel and recommend that you overlook some of the minor issues- after all you don't sleep or dine in the corridors. Premier Inn have recently removed their in room telephones, which is a nightmare if you have any issues and are a long way from reception. the assumption is everyone has mobile phones; but please remember that many elderly people don't.

Room Tip: ask for a room not to far from reception if you have mobility issues or a lot of luggage
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Soph98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. It's wonderful to hear that we are the best Premier Inn that you have stayed in and this was largely down to the team, they will be delighted to read this. I'm pleased that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your meals in our Thyme Restaurant.

We do listen to and value our guests' feedback and as a result we are in the process of re-installing the phones into the rooms furthest away from reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Junction 44 and please do not hesitate to contact our reception team prior to arrival and we can allocate you a room closer to reception.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I thought the outside of the hotel looked a bit grim so had low expectations, how wrong I was. The hotel is beautifully updated inside.

The rooms are standard good quality PI rooms.

The restaurant and bar are well designed, the service was excellent and the food of a good standard.

Excellent premier inn.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. I'm delighted that despite your initial impressions you were impressed with our interior and found your room clean and comfortable. I'm also pleased that you received an excellent service in the bar and restaurant and enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back to Junction 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very conveniently sited for a stopover whilst travelling North. We were there on a very warm Summer night, and missed air conditioning. Having pre-booked at a fabulous room rate, it would seem petty to complain. Premier Inn is tremendous value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm delighted that you found us to be fantastic value for money and in a convenient location for breaking up a journey to Scotland. We are not a purpose built Premier Inn so we do not have air conditioning however we do have a policy in place to keep our rooms as cool as possible during this unusually warm weather! We hope to welcome you back to Junction 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here last nite with my family.
Unfortunately there were issues with hot water etc which meant also that cooked breakfast wasn't possible, and we ended up with a cold shower. I'm sure that this would be quickly addressed.

The staff however more than made up for the issues. Steve and Kerry were just amazing fun with our children, and my 6 yr old was just loving pretending that he was their boss. You guys are stars! Also Susan and Richard on reception were so fabulous as they always are, offering a lovely welcome and help during the stay. Always going the extra mile.
What an amazing team the j44 premier inn has. Thanks guys ur credit to the hotel .
We were delighted that premier inn offered a full refund for the inconvenience caused, without guests asking. It was much welcomed and we will certainly be staying at j44 again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkDarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review for our Premier Inn. Unfortunately there was an issue with an external gas pipe just outside of the hotel which meant that we had no hot water and no kitchen service on Friday, fortunately this was fully resolved by late Saturday morning and normal service was resumed. I am delighted that despite the obvious inconvenience this isolated incident caused, you still enjoyed your stay with us and were compensated in line with our good night guarantee. I’ll certainly pass on your kind comments to the team members you have mentioned in your review and I am sure that they will be thrilled to read them. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Junction 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
642 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
9.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing