We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a Prison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a Prison”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked here for 2 nights in July 2014 but left after just one.
The room was like a prison cell, the toilet was tiny, you couldnt enter the toilet if someone was on it .
The doorframe around the door to the room itself was hanging off as if someone had tried to enter the room while someone inside the room had left the door chain on thereby pulling the frame away, leaving several nails exposed.

The wooden frame around the internal door was severely scraped and scratched.
The Tv and bed were fine and the restaurant looked nice but the straw that broke our stay was the useless wifi.
Paid £10 for the week and had used several days of the pass at Kendal Premier inn where while very slow at least the wifi produced some response on our laptop.

But here we were fortunate if a webpage loaded after 10 minutes !
Honestly in about 6 hours we must have browsed no less than a dozen pages.
In the end we tethered my wifes phone to get some browsing done.
Told the man at the desk who said "yeah we need to change provider"
No apology, no service , no refund !

Hmm great service Premier inn

Room Tip: Dont choose room 4 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I was deeply concerned and disappointed reading this review and I can only apologise that due to a number of issues you experienced you had a less than enjoyable stay with us. As well as ensuring the problems with the door can be looked at I would really like to work on resolving this for you and restoring your faith in Premier Inn, I'd greatly appreciate if you could take the time to email me at dorene.mcdavid@whitbread.com with your reservation details.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    358
    167
    62
    33
See reviews for
307
395
51
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night, Staff exceptionally friendly. Had the Dinner and breakfast deal. Food really good and tasty. Breakfast plenty of choice well cooked and a good choice. Very close to Motorway, Never yet had a problem with Premier Inns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm pleased to hear that the team looked after you well and you opted for the great value meal deal in the restaurant. I do agree, we're in a very close proximity to the motorway and yet fortunate enough to escape the traffic noise. I hope to welcome you back to Junction 44 when you are next on your travels.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is the first time we have had any problem with a Premier Inn. We stayed overnight on the way to Edinburgh. The evening meal and breakfast were both fine, although we had a very long wait to be served at dinner, even though it wasn't, very busy. They need to pay attention to cleanliness in the dining room as some of the wall lights were festooned with cobwebs. The room key didn't work properly. The bed was extremely comfortable, but unfortunately the room was unbearably hot. There was a portable fan which we could not use as it was filthy. The worst problem was the thermostat on the shower as even on the lowest setting the water was scalding hot. The gentleman on reception was most apologetic. We went on to Edinburgh were we spent two nights in another Premier Inn, which was very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. Although I was pleased to hear that you found your bed comfortable I was very disappointed to read your other comments and I can only apologise that we didn't deliver our usual level of service on this occasion. I am confident that as you kindly reported the shower fault to reception this will have since been resolved by the maintenance team, I'll also ensure that our housekeepers double check the cleanliness of the fans in each room. I would greatly appreciate if you could take the time to email our Food & Beverage manager at f&bmgrcarlisle.pti@whitbread.com regarding your experience in the restaurant so that we can investigate this further.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed here as we couldn't get accommodation for one night in Glasgow for finals night at the Commonwealth Games.
The rooms were spacious and had been deep cleaned, spotless in fact.
The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't be faulted.
We didn't eat here so have no opinion on the restaurant facilities.
Its a Premier Lodge, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm delighted that you found your room spotless, the housekeeping team will be pleased to hear this. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful team and it's always great to see this recognised in reviews. I hope you enjoyed the games and we look forward to welcoming you back to Junction 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a 6 hour journey from Birmingham
Motorway issues , we arrived to a warm welcome and a efficient
Check in procedure , family room was very tidy and a decent size
We had pre booked the restaurant and our table was ready
Excellent food and great service
Room was very quite no noise issues
Breakfast was buffet style

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. It's great to hear that we delivered on our good night guarantee and you were warmly welcomed on check-in and found your room clean, quiet and comfortable. I'm also pleased that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and the team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Junction 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights and chose location specifically to suit appointments.
Staff on checkin a bit programmed as I complained I'd never seen a single bed in a premier inn but they couldn't switch rooms as fully booked. Led to two night poor sleep.
That aside the room was pokey and clean but the staff were all great in the bar and restaurant which was busy but good service. Quite pricy without the meal deals and two nights was enough to work out the menu. All food particularly breakfast was decent standard. The bar was comfortable and spacious to work in in the afternoon.
Good location but someone mentioned it's an old Holiday inn location so the layout is not up to date. I liked it apart from the beds which are a key selling point for me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm delighted to hear that the team looked after you well and you found the food to be of a good standard. We did convert from a Holiday Inn around 8 years ago so our rooms are slightly smaller than purpose built Premier Inns which is why our twin rooms consist of 2 single beds rather than the standard double and sofa bed. We hope to welcome you back to Junction 44 in the future and please do not hesitate to contact the reception team prior to your arrival and we can ensure a double room has been booked for you.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen Lancs
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is very easy to find, all the staff very helpfull and pleasant,
we had a very nice meal package, saves you a lot of money when its 2 adults and 2 children,
the bar was a nice place to chill after and the rooms excellent would love to stay again when travelling to scotland

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I'm delighted that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. I do agree the meal deal is fantastic value for money and I hope the kids took full advantage of the all you can eat breakfast! It's great to hear you'll be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back to Junction 44 when you are next on your travels.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing