We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not a good experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

used this premier inn as a stop over during a long drive from south of London to Scotland. Booked a 'meal deal' which was a bad mistake. When on a meal deal you get to choose from a very limited menu which does not include pudding. Both me and my partner choose the steak he med rare, me well done; neither of the steaks were edible. The waiter having seen the meal not eaten asked us what was wrong and by way of compensation gave us a free pud. The bed was VERY hard and did not afford us the restful sleep we craved and needed before continuing our drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    383
    173
    67
    35
See reviews for
325
417
54
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich england
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

What amazing value. At £29 a room it is difficult to understand how Premier Inn manages to do it. Having stayed at an awful Travelodge a few days earlier this was a pleasant change. The rooms are what you would expect but meet all needs and are much better appointed than aforementioned establishment. A good nights sleep always seems to come along with a premier Inn. Service was gracious and the only gripe was the ridiculous bar charges (think London prices and then some) and the bar food which those who partook were not impressed with. The breakfast was good though and again with great service. We had 4 rooms and whilst there is a walk down a corridor it is hardly a problem. Overall well done to Premier Inn for showing exactly what can be done at budget rates - unbeatable at this price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stopped here for a one night stay and to be honest, after reading some of the reviews here was a bit concerned about what we'd find. Need'nt have worried, reception staff were very helpfull and friendly and the room was spottlesly clean.
We had evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant and both were very good. (Drinks in the bar are a bit steep though!)
At the end of the day, if you want 4 star service you'll have to pay 4 star prices, but for £29 a night and under £10 for a 2 course meal, you'll have to go a very long way to beat it.
As a conclusion, if value for money in a very well run and operated hotel is what you're looking for, I would highly recommend this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HefandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I stayed in this Premier Inn whilst working one weekend

I have stayed at numerous Premier Inns and have always found them to be good value and well run.

This isn’t well run and I will avoid in the future.

The hotel is an old holiday inn and is generally in good order. My gripe is really with the poorly run bar and restaurant.

My room was fine with the usual large comfy bed blackout curtains and good shower etc.

I dined in the restaurant with a colleague on the Friday night and given the bill was £20 each (food only) I can honestly say it was the worst meal that I have ever had in a hotel / restaurant and I actually begrudged paying for it on my companies expenses. For info I had a small piece of steak dry chicken and half a plate of lettuce When settling the bill our comments were passed on to the waiter only for him to say that he was glad he hadn’t served us as he would have felt guilty. We obviously dined out on the second night which cost less and was at least 10 times better.

The bar lacks ambience is expensive £3.50 ish a pint £4-£5 for a glass of wine On the second night they had run out of gas and had no draught beers or soft drinks.

Some guests may wish to ask for rooms near the reception to avoid the 100m plus walk to the furthest rooms. I was shocked to see a disabled chap wheeling down the corridor so far and he told me that the disabled rooms were at the far end

Bottom line is there are 3 other premier inns in Carlisle and all would be a better choice being newer and being sited with pubs/restaurant rather this tired hotel where the bar and restaurant seem to be an inconvenience

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I have stayed here before and was not overly impressed. The room we had this time was damp. The carpet was wet near the bathroom. The bathroom was dirty and their was mould on the ceiling. This could easily have been cleaned off but was clearly beyond the reach of the staff so they didn't bother. I switched the shower on in the morning to be hit by the whole shower head that fell off the wall causing water to spray everywhere. I had to fix this myself. Whether this is something to do with the wet carpet I am not sure. The bed was uncomfortable. I had to walk miles to get to the room to find that the key-card didn't work anymore so I had to return to reception. The restaurant was ok and the reception area is looked after but once you get downstairs to the rooms then the place is dirty and dated. Not a place I want to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

What can you say about a Premier Inn that has not been said before. Pound for pound it is hard to beat. Is this the best hotel in Carlisle? No. Is this a really good stopover on your way to the highlands? Yes. Cheap, good quality, excellent service and surprisingly very good breakfast. Staff very helpful especially in the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaldingMark_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed here night before cruise transport pick-up to Southampton.Hotel is pretty much what you'd expect,and having requested a room near the back door for ease of moving luggage our request was met .Check in had a very slow turnaround, we stood for ages.
Room was plain and seemed clean enough,bed comfortable.We ate in the bar off the main menu .Food was a bit slow in arriving ,our drinks were finished before it arrived and wasn't that exciting for the price in my opinion.
We didn't have breakfast as we had too early a pick-up time ,but it was £7.50 a head extra on top of the room prices,much to the disgust of the family of five who checked in before us .Has to mount up right enough.If we added the evening meal to the room price and breakfast as well we'd have been over £100 for a very average stay.
We'd use this hotel again for the same purpose,but would rather find a nice 4* B&B for the money if touring.
We get a suite sleeps 4 with complimentary cooked to order breakfast and free happy hour drinks for less money in the States!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cardigran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
9.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing