We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I spent 2 days at this hotel earlier this week. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff ( one even brought us a circulating fan for our room ). The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice. The room was very clean and the maids that we met were lovely. A suggestion that we would like to make is at the foot of the bed there was a large blank wall that could have benefitted from some artwork. we will go again. JW. Co. Durham.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    286
    245
    117
    85
See reviews for
82
394
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

After driving six hours from Scotland, all we wanted to do was find a comfortable bed to lay our head.

After seeing the reviews on trip advisor, we decided to book in. One of the advatages was the free parking. After paying £119 to a less than friendly receptionist, and advised we had to park and pay at the station carpark, were given a key to our room. Unfortantly, we were booked into a room that was already occupied. Down to reception we go to indicate that our room was already occupied. The less than friendly receptionist gave us an apology and could not understand what had happened. What annoyed us mostly was her lack of empathy to two tired people.

We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and was told by a young man there was a back log with meals. There were only 17 people in the restaurant! Starting dinner with a negative comment was not a good start. On a positive note, a young lady with short hair looked after us and was bubbly and lovely. The food was good and we did not feel there was a delay in receiving our meals.

Back in our rooms, we noticed that our lights did not work and the shower would not stop leaking. Being late at this stage we decided to go straight to bed. We found the mattress quite uncomfortable.

The next morning we advised reception about our lights issue. The same receptionist gave us a less than sincere apology. We then paid £9 for parking. I would have at least expected the hotel to offer to cover these costs as their free carpark was full.

Overall, we left Carlisle with a less than positive experience and would not go back. In the closing days of our honeymoon, we were bitterly disappointed with the experience and would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review we very much appreciate it. My apologies for the issues that you encountered rest assured these will be looked into by myself and actions taken to ensure that there can be no reoccurrences in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service in the restaurant I will pass on all your comments to the team who looked after you.
My apologies for the lights in the room, until these things occur we can not rectify them had we been informed on the evening we would have resolved them immediately for you.
In regards to car parking we are very lucky to have a car park being in the city centre, all be it limited but we do clearly state on all our websites, partner sites and our correspondence that the car park is limited and once full parking locally will be payable by the guest.
Thank you once again for your review.

Kinds regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. The best thing is the staff. They are always very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.
The hotel itself is on an excellent location near the shops, castle, cathedral and the park, all of which were delightful to visit. Yes the hotel is near the the pubs and on the Saturday night there was some noise from people enjoying themselves but it really didn't keep us awake even though our room was right in earshot at the front and we slept with our window open.
Our room was lovely with a great view and very good value on a groupon voucher. The food was excellent, we had the tapas in the bar one night and the three course meal on the other night. Both were excellent and made even better by the staff who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was also excellent with everything hot and a good selection. The smoked haddock was particularly good. A mention for Chelsea, Naomi and the waitress with short brown hair who were very attentive but all the staff were great.
I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preecey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all the staff especially the ones mentioned they will be thrilled and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I booked into this hotel at the last minute. I was given a room at the back of the hotel which had clearly had a damp problem in the recent past- very unpleasant. Some of the walls were still wet to the touch! I was too tired to complain and think that I was rather unlucky in my room as others look rather nicer.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very nice. I would not stay there again, however, due to the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your response my apologies for the issues encountered rest assured they will be dealt with immediately.
I have responded to you directly on this matter and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Dirty glasses, dirty bedding, noisy and poor communication with no proactive customer appreciation. Just my experience that spoilt my family weekend

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DanJWuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your response my apologies that you have not enjoyed your experience with us.
The comments that you have made are taken very seriously and will be investigated and the appropriate steps taken to ensure that there can be no reoccurrences in the future.
We very much appreciate you brining them to our attention as it is only when guests do can we act and improve on the service standards given to our guests.
My apologies once again.

Yours sincerely

Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I've stayed here several times recently on business. The rooms are well kept and comfortable. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are pretty good too! All in all a pleasant place to stay, probably the best hotel in Carlisle.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian141a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and your comments will be most appreciated by all the team.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes


Claire Flint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have stayed in nearly every room of this hotel over the past ten years, mainly when it was previously called the Lakes Court but recently I have stayed in it under its new guise as the Hallmark Carlisle. Ten years ago it had a makeover in progess but that involved some new paint and some new wallpaper in the rooms and not a lot else.

It was a pleasant surprise during my recent stays that it has been given a real makeover now. I hardly recognised it as the rooms are now amazing. The same old friendly hotel right in the heart of Carlisle city but with a new fresh look which has raised the style and character of the rooms by 200%+

The staff were exceptional. A particular young lady with red hair at reception dealt with a very tired me who turned up with no booking because my company or their booking agents had made a mess of the booking and it had not gone through. The receptionist gave me a winning smile and said, "I will get you a room. It's no problem." And neither it was. I got such a good sleep that I didn't fully appreciate the extent of the refurbishment until my next visit a week later. She gets my "Top Receptionist Of The Year 2012 Award" and it is only July just now!

I have not had a chance to eat at the Hallmark during these recent visits but I went into the bar to check it out and it too has been totally refurbished with a stylish and contemporary look. If you are visiting Carlisle on business or for pleasure then I totally recommend this hotel. I have a whole decade's worth of experience staying here and it has now improved to the point that I would recommend it to even the fussiest person I know. It is literally about 40 feet from the front door of Carlisle railway station and a five minute stroll will get you up past the Courts into the very heart of the shopping district. Because it is in the centre of a busy provincial city there is sometimes quite a bit of noise outside depending on what floor you are on and what side of the hotel you are on. The trains run infrequently through the night but are not overly loud, the biggest noise comes from traffic in the morning and people out enjoying the local hostelries of an evening. Want a a top tip from the travelling Koala? Buy some earplugs from Boots and get the maximum enjoyment from this wonderful hotel.

On my most recent visit I had a couple of gripes on arrival:

1. There was only ⅓ of toilet roll in the bathroom and no spare.
2. There was no soap in the bathroom, only shower gel, body lotion and hair conditioner.
3. As per 2. there was no shampoo

I can honestly say this is the first time I have encountered an oversight like this since maybe seven or eight years ago when they were being mean with the toilet paper and I gave up and bought my own from Tesco and left the spare rolls of it sitting in the bathroom when I checked out as a 'statement'.

Apart from the above minor gripes, and yes I could have complained and asked for some and I am sure I would have got it no problem but was too tired to leave my room, the hotel is just great. The atmosphere in the bar is great and in the past I have had a few sessions into the wee small hours with colleagues.

Room Tip: Second floor or above and ask for the side facing the station. Night freight trains are less annoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miceal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
What a wonderful review thank you so much we very much appreciate it. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you have seen some improvements since the last time you visited. I was disappointed by your couple of niggles in the room and rest assured these will be dealt with immediately.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Property: Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square makes Hallmark Hotel Carlisle one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests alike benefit from, FREE WiFi and truly excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing