We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been to this hotel a number of times, for christmas shopping days in Carlisle, also the New Years eve gala in the hotel. lovely rooms, staff, food etc. Be early as parking is a little tight in the car park. But, on the whole a nice place.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you have returned yet again and enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again, maybe even at New Year?

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    287
    246
    117
    85
See reviews for
83
395
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decor a little dated but service, cleanliness and food absolutely great. The dinner menu was quite limited. Happy to return for the second pre-booked night. Being the closest hotel to the rail station was a bonus for us leaving on the 08.28

Room Tip: Just book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed one night in a twin room - 115. Lovely spacious room. Bathroom suite a very dated colour and a shower curtain - but extremely clean and nice toiletries. It overlooked the side towards the station. Didn't hear any noise and we slept with the window open. The hotel own parking is tiny and tight to say the least! You need to drive through the station car park to find it and have nerves of steel when it comes to parking. The breakfast was lovely. Everything you need, hot and plentiful. The only complaint, which is not the hotel's fault really, is the number of smokers literally either side of the main entrance. You have run the gauntlet of smoke to get in and out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about outside we do try and keep people away from the main doors but with it being such a public place and near the train station, sometimes we are fighting a loosing battle!
I will pass on all your lovely comments to the team and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Staff top dogs smart polite helpful knothing was to much for them. rooms brill service great meals jublie and plenty on your plate ,I would go back again thanks for a great weekend.Parking plenty of space.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your reunion with us.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to visit friends and have an army reunion.
The hotel is located directly by the exit/entrance of platform 4 of Carlisle railway station.
The entrance to the hotel is tidy,the hotel bar is modern,the reception staff efficient and friendly.

We had room 309,I didn't like the blankets as the were heavy and not that comfortable.. At the top of the hotel,it is very quiet,but no view,the hotel advertises free WiFi throughout the hotel.unfortunately the reception is poor on the 3rd floor and couldn't be connected in room 309.I had to go to the reception/bar area to read my emails.You also have to obtain a username and password,this only lasts for 12-16 hours which is extremely frustrating and annoying.this needs to be fixed as they lagged behind other same class hotels.
The food is generally good,I normally go on the sausage test,at breakfast the sausages were fairly good, the bacon was bland.but the service for breakfast was disjointed,the kitchen couldn't get the food cooked in time and the guests were kept waiting for eggs and clean plates.
I will praise the staff generally very friendly and helpful,we had our reunion dinner there they coped very well and nothing was beyond them,all in all a fairly comfortable weekend,

Room Tip: 3rd floor if they have a wedding booked as our friends heard the music from the function room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipwilson200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Apologies about the WIFI I will have this looked at today as this is the first complaint we have received about reception on the third floor. With regards to the codes the system is a secure system which we need for our corporate clients which is why you need a password to log on. Regarding the length of usage this is to ensure that all out guests have access when they require it and the system is not clogged up with people logged on but not using which has occurred in the past.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just 20 yards from the station entrance.. 40 yards from the first pub and botchergate where scores of clubs, pubs and bookmakers are located. A spacious reception with the bar close to the main entrance, plenty of space.. The staff were very friendly and most helpful.
We were in a large group but the choice of menu was well varied and of really good standard.
Some of the rooms are noisy at night but many are in a quieter section at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the front and also away from those close to the first big pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will visit again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hubby and I wanted a 2 night break in Carlisle. At first glance, we thought that it would be very noisy but were pleasantly surprised that it wasn't we didn't even hear the lift that our room was next to. Our room was a little small but clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style, as expected, with small amounts out in the trays which were hot, regularly checked and refreshed by the restaurant staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKS186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review very much appreciate it. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return which we look forward to.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Property: Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square makes Hallmark Hotel Carlisle one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests alike benefit from, FREE WiFi and truly excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing