We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked two nights on a Groupon deal and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the annexe and was clean and comfortable.Our deal included a three course meal in the Peace and Plenty restaurant which was very good (just avoid the homemade leek soup!).Carlisle is difficult to drive around at busy times and as the hotel is right in the centre of town try not to access it during rush hour.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Many thanks for posting your feedback. Although we are in the centre of the city which can get busier at peak times, the major road work that was being carried out near to the hotel whilst you were here has thankfully finished, so access to the hotel should be much easier in the future! I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our Groupon offer and enjoyed your time at the hotel. Might I suggest that you contact our Reservations Team regarding the 2013 Gold Voucher Promotion which will begin shortly?
I hope that you are enjoying the remainder of the summer and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    356
    156
    72
    47
See reviews for
123
371
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in Carlisle for 2 x nights. We arrived to a friendly welcome with plenty of information about how to use facilities, breakfast times and most importantly - where to find the bar!! Throughout our stay, we noted that every member of staff was always happy to help, gave service with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was small but perfectly adequate. Due to no air conditioning, it was far too hot - but luckily you could open windows wide enough to let plenty of air in. The room wasn't immaculate and needed updating, but was nice.

The location is ideal, close to the city centre and on site parking.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay at the Crowne & Mitre :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileygal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the beginning of July. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff so helpful and friendly and will certainly relay your thoughts onto them. I hope that you will choose to stay with us should you be visiting Carlisle again in the future, in which case please ask our Reservations Team about a larger, more modern room as we have recently completed a number of refurbishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is a must for a short break. We were there as part of a Glenton Tour to the Lake District spread over five days. The food was good value including breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was clean and tidy - as were the towels, bed linen, etc. Tea & Coffee was more than adequate.

The hotel is located in the city centre amongst the shops - a big plus. We recommend the Crown & Mitre for food. One night we invited a couple of friends to join in the Peace & Plenty Restaurant for dinner. It was so good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmorallothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your stay in July. I am delighted you enjoyed short break with us and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My partner and I have just enjoyed a couple of days here n the WOWCHER deal, and thoroughly enjoyed it - It was a busy week-end at the Hotel. and even although we were in the annexe there was a fair amount of noise drifting across from the main building (Functions) on both the Friday and Saturday nights. The room was very comfortable, and the food was excellent - The Hotel is very central for the town itself, and although the weather was not very good, there were plenty of things to do. We found all the staff we met to be very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were spotless, and we would certainly pay a return visit. I would add that having previously stayed at another Hotel in the PEEL chain, the high standards are uniformly reflected.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are very comfortable, but it is strange to have to use an umbrella to go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michieg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in June. I apologize for the noise which managed to drift from our functions – we do take measures to avoid this as far as possible. As part of the Peel Hotel chain we endeavor to keep to the high standards of quality and service found across our hotels nationwide. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and that you will consider Peel Hotels whenever travelling to a destination nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights with an evening meal included with a wowcher deal. From the moment we arrived we found the staff very helpful and cheery. The room was very clean, beds very comfy with nice bed linen and towels. It was quiet and we slept great. The only little gripe is the seperate toilet, although good idea was a very small space and you had to manuver alongside the loo to get the door closed, which could be awkward for any one on the large side.
We loved the pool and jaccuzi which we went in both days, although not a big pool, there was only a couple of other people in while we were there so it was fine.
Breakfast was good and plentiful as was the evening meals.
We would use this hotel again.
I enjoyed the shopping , not so much the Castle, which I thought obliged to visit seeing as we were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for comments. It is encouraging to receive such positive feedback regarding our staff, food and accommodation. Please keep a look out for future promotions on our website, especially the Gold Voucher 2013 Promotion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I spent a short holiday at the Crown and Mitre through a coach tour arrangement. The accommodation was comfortable and the "loo" was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel is in the centre of Carlisle and vet handy for shops and sightseeing - yet at night it was very quiet. The area around the hotel is pedestrianised, so there are no traffic noises. Also, there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel which works very well and is very convenient. Only one minor gripe - not all of the Freeview channels could be accessed on the television. Overall, a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay as part of a Coach Tour. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our central location and free Wi-Fi. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Carlisle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I booked this hotel on a wowcher deal for my husband and I which included an evening meal for two on the first night. I paid a supplement for an executive room (140) which was nice enough a little bit dated but with a good view over the town square and the bandstand. We had a delightful meal in the Peace and Plenty restaurant, which had a good choice of home cooked food and an extensive wine menu, the staff were so pleasant and attentive from start to finish which made the meal very enjoyable. The full english breakfast was substantial, with an offer of more toast if required, and again the staff were great, it was a pleasure to walk into the dining room each morning.We did not have chance to use the pool and Jacuzzi which was a shame, as we wanted to see as much of Carlisle and the surrounding areas as possible. We visited a few of the pubs in the centre the next evening, and enjoyed a meal in a really good Thai restaurant and again we found the locals just as friendly, and came away with the impression that Carlisle lives up to its name definitely one of the friendliest places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyboo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Should you wish to receive details about our future promotions please contact Maggie McLellan on 01228525491.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Property: Crown & Mitre Hotel
Address: 4 English Street, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing