We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SHOCKING”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Cobwebs, dirt, black mold, lots of lose hairs were they should not of been an that's just the room, we were at a wedding staff were told by me about child (age 4) with allergies, yet he was served something he was allergic to with his starter staff wry apologetic yet not alternative offered, main was 1 roast potatoe and 1 boiled potato for him due to allergy, then at night do told by staff with love bites that they couldn't make him a sandwich without meat or fish in. Due to child's age quoted £80 for room as they wouldn't use linen etc yet upon checking in charged £140 to cover supplement for child's breakfast-how much breakfast can a 1 year old eat??!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danianddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    365
    169
    77
    49
See reviews for
127
385
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed in the family room (220) and found that although it is a bit dated the room was spacious and clean, the room overlooks the main square but we was not bothered by any noise. The breakfast was great with a wide choice of hot and cold food which was regularly replaced when running low.
The Pool and hot tub are nice and the kids enjoyed a nice dip.
We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield,West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Evening meal was quite poor and all of us complained. Struggled to sleep as the wind rattled the sash windows all night and the bed was incredibly bouncy.

Would not recommend this at all.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nimrods_Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends and although perhaps some rooms are dated, it is a very old traditional hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the second year in a row. The reception staff, cleaning and waiting staff were very friendly and cheerful. The beds were very comfortable and clean (we had three in our room) plenty of pillows and clean towels. I know other guests had a problem with no hot water in the morning but it was addressed quickly. Good choice for breakfast with never ending toast, tea and coffee! We had a set dinner menu which we enjoyed and thought it was even better than last year. The location is great with all the shops close to hand, an ideal spot for those who do not wish to drive. Would definately return again.

Room Tip: Room 220 is very spacious and looks over the bandstand at the front and is suprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel from 6th -7th April 2013. We arrived to be told we'd been upgraded to a king room, room 328, it was gorgeous, lovely with old fashioned furniture. We were at the front of the hotel overlooking the square. Breakfast was plentiful everything from cereal, fruit, meats, cheeses and a full breakfast. The staff on the reception were lovely and helpful. The only negative was that the bathroom door did not close properly, so not a lot of privacy and there was a slight smell of drains when washing your hands, but the room's size and decor made up for this. The tea and coffees in the bar were far superior to Starbucks and a fraction of the cost. We will definately be returning, hopefully soon. I nearly forgot to mention, it does have a pool and jacuzzi, but on this occasion we didn't have time to try them out, hopefully next time we will. There is a car park at the rear of the hotel, quite cobbly, but free.

Room Tip: We were at the top of the hotel room 328 and the views over the tops of the buildings were lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideBingo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our page. I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us; we do try and upgrade people as much as we can and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the room. Thank you for bringing up that the door does not close properly we will fix this. It’s nice to hear all food and other facilities you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel. The frontage is massive, and looks out on to the pedestrian area in the centre of the city (i.e. no traffic noise). The building retains a truly Edwardian air - big airy public areas and dining rooms, with big fireplaces and stained glass windows, but it has been tastefully modernised. Our room was very big - king-sized, comfortable bed,flat screen TV with full Sky programming, comfortably heated. The breakfast was a real 'full English', with no skimping, the evening meal in the restaurant very tasty. And the staff are very friendly. One caution: the car park (60cars) is at the rear, and the access takes you through a 'pedestrian' area cutting through Marks and Spencer stores!

Room Tip: Best to go for a 'superior' room. Ours was on the front, but no traffic noise.The lifts can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed everything that we ha d to offer, some of our king room do have sky television in and I am glad you enjoyed that. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Oh dear. What a place! Rooms really dated and asked to be moved due to terrible smell in 112. Was moved to to 130, a nice room but really cold and sheets felt damp. Service in restaurant was awful. 'Did any of youz lot order steak?' I'm 55 for god's sake and she was the waitress, didn't she know? Hair in food, asked for soup spoon twice, when it arrived the rest of the party had finished the starters so soup was cold. Red wine ordered and white served? How difficult was that one? Red arrived and was placed in ice bucket. Now that's basic to know red should be served at room temperature. No bread offered to start with and apologies were coming thick and fast. Were offered a free bottle of red the next night as way of apologising for sloppy service. They have a real issue with staff training in restaurant. The people at the next table ordered Irish coffee and this was served stirred. They too complained and later correctly served. I feel the staff tried really hard but just not trained properly. Issue for hotel to sort I think.
Plus sides - great location, hotel has a good sized car park, reception staff very good and helpful, main areas are rather grand (Edwardian I think) if a little tired. Nice roaring fire in reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for the service you received during your time with us. We are aware of the situation which occurred on that evening. Unfortunately one of our staff members called in sick therefore we had to bring another staff member from a different department to help out, although I do realise this does not condone to the service you received. On the second evening you stayed we checked with yourself numerous of times to make sure everything was to your satisfaction and nothing was mentioned to the receptionist on checkout.
I am happy to hear that you found reception staff helpful and that you found location, main areas of the hotel good. Once again please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you do wish to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to contact myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Property: Crown & Mitre Hotel
Address: 4 English Street, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing