We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Carlisle(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angus Hotel(Carlisle)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbria Park Hotel(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Wetheral Hotel(Wetheral)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
355
430
194
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
430
194
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcomplimentary glass of wineswimming poolgold voucherpeel hotelsking roomcentre of townmain buildingpublic areascentral locationsat navbuffet styleold buildingweekend breakevening mealwould stay againbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good hotel in the center of carlisle out the door and your in the center of the shops hotel is ok some parts need a bit of tlc but food is great nothing is to much trouble our room was comfy but very warm as we were on the top floor you could hear the water tank the staff were great especially as our group was large the ballroom is large and has a grate dance floor didnt try the swimming pool this year but will definitely be back

Room Tip: Try not get rooms 440 /444 their on the top floor and very warm
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsAyrshireScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it’s always nice knowing that our large party groups enjoyed their weekend and our ballroom is a large fantastic room and I am glad to hear you think so too. Look forward to welcoming you back next year if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. Was put in annexe to main building. Room ok, a little small but clean. The bed was so soft though, was like sleeping on sponge. Very noisy plumbing, the clattering and banging of pipes woke me every time a fellow guest flushed the toilet. Room backed onto lane on street which meant it noisy, especially on the Friday and Saturday nights. Didn't really sleep well. Decor tired and in need of some rejuvenating. Did not eat in hotel, so can't comment on food. Drinks in bar very expensive. (£6.50 for glass wine). I think room overpriced (£85 per night, no breakfast). Great location though, right in city centre.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Misti66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking your time to comment on our page, we are sorry to hear you had mixed reviews on your stay with us, did you mention the plumbing and noise to reception so we could try and see if we could move rooms for you? I am surprised to hear you found the bar prices expensive as we have always been told for a hotel we are decently priced, however the room rate sounds like you booked online if so although for extra cost we could of offered you breakfast for the morning, if you do wish to stay with us again please contact the hotel directly then we can give you a better quotation for your stay including breakfast,. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed one night midweek. Room ok but felt musty as did bathroom. Everything appeared clean. Staff helpful locating room with direct web link. Car park hard to find and bit cramped. Breakfast average- fruit looked like it had reappeared from day before - not brilliant.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank reneaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review, I apologise that you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as we hoped. We would like to welcome you back again so we can try and make your stay more enjoyable next time around

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I expected the worst staying in carlisle, esp. When a premier inn is voted #1 in the city, but I was quite pleasantly surprised. Room was smallish but big enough. Bathroom was actually same size as rest of room. Good hot water pressure. Location perfect! You do not want to stay on botchergate, where a lot of hotels are....that's the heart of the nitelife and a bit of a disaster at night....English street was perfect...3 mins walk to the wild part of town and right on the heart of the nice, quaint town, cathedral, castle, etc. free breakfast in AM was an oily and greasy full English, tough you can order off the menu as well. Solid pub situation in hotel. Did not eat dinner at hotel. Helpful and friendly front desk staff. Room got old at night and there was no sign of a thermostat to turn the heat on. Overall, good stay, would stay again if I find myself in carlisle, though a countryside b&b along the wall would be good too

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Magellan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, the centre of the hotel is indeed very handy and not far to walk for everything you need, I hope we were able to rectify the heating problem if you let reception know, however we hope that you return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed there with a group of 27. Rates for dinner bed and breakfast were great value. Drinks very reasonably priced. Swimming pool very clean and airy. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Car park a bit of a nightmare to find but staff good at seeing everyone got in and out. Would definitely recommend this for a group.
Dunning Parish Historical Society

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJeanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews