We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed last Saturday night and really quite enjoyed it.
We had a nice room overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was nicely decorated with slightly dated furniture, but hey, it was clean tidy and everything worked. Nice big bath and a well stocked bathroom. Free wifi in the room too with a good solid signal.
We ate in the restaurant, the food was excellent with good service. No problems here at all. Breakfast again was good, busy but we were served quickly, asked for poached eggs and decaff tea and it arrived quickly and hot. All good.
Sure the hotel is a little faded in places with the odd bit of worn carpet but its got character, is clean and tidy and we'd go back without hesitation.
Car parking can be tight for room and you may have to leave your car key so they can juggle but many city centre hotels also do this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Neilb62,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last Saturday. I am also glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with every aspect of your stay. Reviews like yours let me know that the hotel is keeping to the high standards that are expected. We are currently going through a renovation of the hotel and updating parts of the hotel where it is needed so hopefully you will see these changes if you stay with us again. Thank you again for your review and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown and Mitre again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife and her mother, a one night stay after a week end in Keswick for the jazz festival, I booked with Zoe on reservations and explained they would not arrive until late on the Saturday night about mid night, I was told this was not a problem and it turned out not to be a problem as the night porter was on the ball with the booking. My wife could not understand the comments about the car park as she found it straight away and found the size ok for the hotel. They had a good nights sleep and enjoyed a hot breakfast the next day all in all perfect end to the trip

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germanshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Germanshep,

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that your wife and her mother enjoyed their stay with us. As we have a 24 hour reception we can be flexible with arrival time which benefits a lot of our guests. Thank you again for you review and I hope that you all visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed recently with my partner and just wished we hadn't. Firstly we struggled to find the car park, the hotel postcode is different to the car park postcode which we were not informed of leading to 30mins driving round Carlisle. At reception we were not informed on departure time, had to ask twice where to park and not told of the location of any facilities. It felt like a conveyor belt with the reception staff disinterested.
We booked a 'luxury' room and what we got had nothing to suggest it was luxury. We were in the annex at the back of the building, which had a strange odour. Upon entering the room it was really small. The sink was in the room itself, the iron didn't work, the bed was just two twins zipped together and certainly not a standard double, the room was so compact that the bathroom door was cut down to fit. The decor seemed really outdated and old fashioned.
We felt that reception wasn't approachable to amend any of these flaws. We definitely won't be bothering return as this is just disappointing and not value for money.
The one upside to the hotel is that once we found the car park, the gentleman organising the cars was very friendly and helpful. We left our car keys with him and he did the rest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluey338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Bluey338,

Thank you for your review and bringing this to my attention. I am very sorry for the issues that you faced during your stay. I have looked into your booking that you made with booking.com and you were not allocated the type of room that you had booked upon your arrival.

I have now personally emailed your partner with an apology which I hope in some ways helps build you trust back in the hotel and that you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we have just celebrated our daughters wedding at this hotel. we stayed for two nights, with b&b and we were very impressed. the standard of attention was excellent. the food was fresh and hot and top class. We had the wedding itself, the wedding breakfast in the afternoon and the evening reception in the ballroom, the staff were amazing the bar staff certainly earned their wages and i would like to thank Maggie for all the hard work she put in over the whole weekend. whatever she gets paid it is not enough.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel will give you a nice view looking out at the old town hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear st0rs,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your daughter’s wedding. As a hotel we work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are well looked after and that all of our events run as smoothly as possible, your comments let me know that we are achieving this. Thank you again for your review and I would like to wish the happy couple a very long and prosperous future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Came back this year on same offer we had last year. Lovely room,food,service last year. This year. We was meant to have a executive room however i feel it was a very basic double room. Not much room. Water was Luke warm at best. I strugled with geting in and out the bath. Very thin bath i think. Tv control did not work so coundnt watch tv. The hotal was been redecorated. However the hall we was in smelt of paint. And carpet. Up at doors of rooms. Food also i think it has gone down from last year. Staff mainly was friendy. Car park very full. I think the car park its to small for size of hotel. Pool i think was very cold. I will not b returning to the hotel again. We did not complain as my other half was ok with these things. But i was not.

Room Tip: Ensure room is type you asked. For. And try and be in the main building. Be fairly early to find a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,980,873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear 1980873,
Thank you for your review and bringing your comments to me attention. I wish you had mentioned these to reception or to a duty manager during your stay as we could have tried to rectify these problems to improve your stay. The room that you stayed in was an Executive Double room, you were possibly upgraded to one of our King rooms when you first stayed here which might have been why you noticed a difference. The TV remote may have needed batteries which the reception could have provided you or they could have given you a new remote if the batteries did not work. Regarding the car park, as we are a city centre hotel we have limited space to use. We do try to fit everyone into the car park and on the very rare occasions that we have no space at all in the car park we do have an overflow car park that we are able to use which is close to the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the problems again, I hope that you will visit us again soon so we can have a chance to prove ourselves to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Large group for linedance weekend. Most staff very friendly , especially the staff who served food,with a smile, and a great sense of humour . For "tour food " ,it was fine, ok selection, all served hot , plenty of it ,and served with a smile . Decent breakfast . Pool small but adequate, changing rooms could have been cleaner. Have had nicer reception staff to be honest .Room was clean , comfy beds and pillows . Location superb as right in the centre of town. Hotel a bit tired, especially the threadbare tartan carpet,however I would stay again

Room Tip: Avoid the Annexe with rooms facing the lane . Noisy from people using it very late on,also , avoid a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crocusgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Crocusgrove,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Line dancing weekends are very popular at the hotel and as a hotel, we enjoy having them. I will pass on your comments regarding the swimming room changing rooms and I will ensure that the standards improve here. Thank you again for your review and I will look forward to welcoming you back for another Line Dancing tour in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lovely lunch in the bar today, pulled pork wrap & special turkey club sandwich were both delicious! Really nice homemade chips! Staff friendly & attentive, food arrived quickly. Such a beautiful building inside. I love the original features of this hotel. I would definitely recommend for a nice meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMH-AT337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear SMH-AT337,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent lunch in the Tavern Bar. It is always good to hear positive comments about the hotel and its services as it lets me know that the hotel is maintaining its high standards. Thank you again for your review and I will look forward to seeing you in the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,087 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Address: 4 English Street, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £49 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing