We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A series of accidents”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A series of accidents”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a stopover on the way home, giving us a day of Carlisle sightseeing, which we enjoyed. However, everything seemed to go wrong - but please read the positives below as well as the negatives. A glitch in the booking website meant I had to finish the booking by phone - but received no confirmation, which I was told later would have given us directions to find the carpark through the labyrinthine back streets. After an hour and a half rush-hour searching, two very generous individuals drove us to the front door, which we discovered covered in scaffolding without a visible name board. Needle in a haystack. When we checked out, we discovered we had been booked for dinner B&B which we didn't know about and were to be charged for 4 dinners we had not had. The manager eventually intervened and struck this off. We had been upgraded to a suite, but unfortunately the near 100 decibel pneumatic drills 9-5 meant we could not enjoy it during the day. Nevertheless, the hotel was nice, and will be good when refurbished. Our issues, though unfortunate, were sorted out. My advice to check-in staff is to check with the visitor on arrival what they think they have booked for.

Room Tip: Check the state of the building works to get a room as far away from the noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and for putting the positives of your experience on this review too.

The reception staff should check the rate and what the guests have booked upon check in and I am sorry that it was not spotted on your arrival by the receptionist or yourself. I am glad, however, that we managed to sort this confusion out for you and refunded you the price of your meals that you did not eat.

Thank you again for your review, I hope that you will come back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    365
    169
    77
    49
See reviews for
127
385
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for one night.
The staff at check in were friendly and efficient, as were all the staff we met, including the night porter.
The hotel has an air of faded grandeur but is currently undergoing a make over.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate if rather dated but as previously mentioned the hotel is being refurbished.
Breakfast was plentiful with a decent selection of both hot and cold food available. However one of our group ordered a Spanish omelette which was so overcooked that it was almost in edible.
It is located in the middle of town so is handy for everything.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Romc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Romc25,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback that we get and take it all on board. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant, I will make sure I pass that comment on. Regarding the food at breakfast, I am glad that you found the selection and amount to be plentiful. I am sorry, however, that the Spanish omelette wasn’t enjoyable. I have spoken to the chef and breakfast staff who should have spotted that the omelette wasn’t up to our usual standards and taken it back to the kitchen before serving you it. I just wish that you had mentioned this to someone at breakfast as I am positive they would have made you a better one straight away.

Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will come visit us again soon to see how well we getting on with our refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped off on our way to the Commonwealth Games , a great hotel in the centre of Carlise . Excellent quiet room in the Annexe at the rear as requested, good parking facilities . Had evening meal in the Hotel , great atmosphere , good service and high quality food .Breakfast equal high standard. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kevin T,

Thank you very much for your review, I am pleased that you had a nice stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team who will be delighted to hear more great feedback. I hope that you enjoyed your time at the Commonwealth Games. Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation, I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very central located hotel with a nice swimming pool very close to lots of places to eat and drink and the sites.
The room was comfortable and quiet although very hot.
There is limited parking.
Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dale H,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We do have fans that are available from reception which you could have had in your room during your stay to keep it cooler, I hope this did not disrupt your stay too much. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen regarding your breakfast as they will appreciate the feedback. Thank you again for your review, I will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

stayed one night as we went the sand center to see joules holland nice pleasent stay bit dated but nice and clean all the staff lovely breakfast nice great for anyone travelling to carlisle smack bang in middle of town center 5mins walk to train station would recommend

Room Tip: 118 nice and quite nice comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Wadjap,

Thank you for review of your recent stay at the hotel, I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team who will also be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, I hope to see you in the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We also stayed here for the graduation and it was perfect. It is right in the centre of Carlisle with a large car park and a nice pub at the back, where we drank our pims !! The weather was great which helped no end. The staff are very friendly and helpful, including the reservation staff, when I had to amend my booking. The hotel is in the middle of a refurb, but our family room was a great size. I would recommend this hotel and stay again if in Carlisle

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are ok. A friend had a room overlooking the church on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Caroline12349,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. I am glad that you had such a wonderful time with us. I am also glad to hear that you weren’t affected by the refurbishment which is going on throughout the hotel and that you found your room suitable to your needs. Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will visit the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Crown & mitre Hotel. The sad part is we could not stay longer due to work. Very quick check in and out dispite leaving at silly o'clock. Fantastic location.Fantastic staff food in the restraurant was first class. The Hotel is a listed building with loads of history so it would be a nice idea to have a brief history of the hotel in leaflet form in the bedroom for guests to take away and share.

Room Tip: over looking cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. I take all comments on board so that to improve the hotel so I will definitely look into getting an information leaflet in each of our bedrooms as this is a good idea. Thank you again for your review, I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Property: Crown & Mitre Hotel
Address: 4 English Street, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing