We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a great price”

Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet
Ranked #147 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Well cooked food, unhurried service and a very good buffet selection. fours of us ate on a Monday evening, with drinks for lest than £40.

This is not the first time we have ate there, but our first review.

We will be back......

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel_and_Paul_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    74
    34
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“will never return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited here for a birthday meal and will never return. Food is average which is expected for such cheap prices. I visited the lady's room and while i was in there a member of staff was throwing up, she then left the restroom without washing her hands and went straight over to the food station. needless to say it put me off for life!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is an excellent value for money restaurant. We enjoyed it so much we went back a second night. The staff are welcoming and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlenMaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its actually called "Shanghai Shanghai" Oriental Buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Like New York so good they named it twice! Second visit, and it was heaving this time, which says a lot already. After brief wait shown to our table, and we tucked in to a very wide selection of hot and varied dishes, all very good, at least those I tried were, with a good salad bar and sushi type options too, soup choices, plus a nice little selection of sweet options to finish, if you've room for it.
Very nice staff, attentive, and busy replacing quickly gobbled up trays of the food.
An added bonus was the price, very competitive indeed, and the beer was priced a pound below street prices, when I expected to pay a pound more. Overall, great value, if not exactly haute cuisine or truly authentic chinese food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrparnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sliding downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Hadn't been here in a good few years it used to be reasonable for what you paid however now it's very different the range of food has shrunk with what are obviously cheaper options than they were the salad bar looks like it could possibly kill someone waiting staff if they speak English can't really be described as welcoming .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aday90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing