We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictable good value”

Toby Carvery Carlisle
Ranked #76 of 359 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Carlisle. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Cumbria’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Massive Yorkshire pud to fill your plate; excellent carvery & steamed veg; low cost; they make it up on desserts and drinks.
Speedy service; always busy; easy parking.

Thank izziebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 463 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Went yesterday with 4 adults, a 3yr old and a baby. Great staff who were very accommodating. Food was nice but I would've given 5 stars if there was a veggie alternative in the carvery rather than having to order separately. I just had the veg and went back for seconds but couldn't finish a forkfull of it! We had a voucher for 2 courses for £6.50 so we ordered 3 puddings which were the size of a small caravan! Amazing value even if we had paid full price. A couple of us even got free refills as we had bought diet drinks on tap. I asked for plastic spoons and forks for the kids which they happily obliged. Lovely service at the bar and the waiting staff but the carvery man was a bit miserable! I love the place. If I wasn't dieting I'd go every week!!!

Thank GannyMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you did enjoy your visit to us with your family & look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and 6 others were here for tea tonight around 6:30pm We were told there was a 25/30 minute wait which was fine. After about 20mins we asked how long there would be till a table became available- to which we were told another 20/25 mins?! So we asked if we could sit at the bar tables but still have the carvery buffet which was not a problem but had to pay up from? Really? Just because we were not on the restaurant side to eat. Having known this we would not of bothered even eating as the staff were so miserable and there was next to nothing left on the carvery buffet. Only 3/4 choice of meat left, cold stuffing, very little veg and there was NO Yorkshire puddings left-which we were told that they had ran out of pudding mix?! No offence but everyone knows how to make batter mix- you could of improvised instead of using ready mixed stuff? This was a Sunday night which in our opinion is the main day for a roast dinner??? We all ate what was on offer and it tasted ok but certainly won't be back! The man who was carving the meat clearly didn't have much interest in being there at all which didn't help when we asked if there was any Yorkshire puddings left. A blunt answer and no eye contact is a bit rude in my opinion. We certainly would NOT of paid upfront if we knew how unorganised the food choice and service was going to be! Sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lorie-mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I dislike this phrase, but "it is what it is". Plenty of food, for a low price. A queue for you food carvery.

Just came back from a visit with the family, 3 adults and a child - £33. Food overcooked etc etc. But you know that before you go.

Thank Panhead-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We find all comments really helpful, and we will aim to take note of what you have said following your visit to Toby Carvery Carlisle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Definitely value for money, going later in the day is less crowded than lunch time, friendly staff and very helpful, food always hot, only 1 complaint that the beef is always a bit tough, takes a bit of chewing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Carlisle also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Toby Carvery Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing