We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious rooms and not far from both city centre and the M6”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinegrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinegrove Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious rooms and not far from both city centre and the M6”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Has some bad reviews but we had no complaints. The room was clean and spacious, the staff were friendly, and it's not far from both the city centre and the M6. You could probably get a better hotel for the same price if you shopped around though.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    16
    2
    12
See reviews for
16
26
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had not chosen to stay at this particular hotel it was sourced through another hotel who had double booked us. First impressions was not very pleasant and have to say we were very reluctant, having no other choice booked in eventually. rooms are very tired and are in need of updating as stated on other reviews, however I cannot stress enough how under the circumstances the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, considering they had to put up with a large party of unhappy people. If it was a choice of staying here or the Swallow Hill top I would chose here, staff at swallow absolutely terrible and some rooms at swallow not any better (providing you actually do get one). great breakfast provided at pine grove.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue12613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Room clean and very spacious. With a decent sized bathroom. Had enough room to put our luggage without tripping over it. With a beautiful staircase and stained galss window. The hotel is a little bit tired, but we found it value for money. We will stay there again if ever we visit England in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed here for a family party we were attending, I had booked a downstairs room as I am on crutches, on arrivel they had given the room away so we had to use an upstairs room, once in this room the kettle was covered in green mould, carpet was marked, hair in shower from previous guest, bed sat on floor and there was dead insects in room. hotel needs a complete refurb only good thing was breakfast

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy19520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed here for a weekend as we were visiting carlisle for a family occasion.
The hotel is very dated and we were disappointed to see that the entrance area was littered with fag ends - not good. The first room we were given keys to stank of fag smoke, this is a non-smoking hotel! Without hesitation, we were given 3 sets of keys to check out the rooms to see if they were to our liking, we found one that didn't smell of fags but the loo had been used and not flushed! However, the staff here are lovely and very obliging and breakfast was good and served hot. We might stay here again if we get the same deal for B & B

Room Tip: Within walking distance of excellent restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftyfifty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

The service was excellent friendly welcoming staff.We booked in later as we were up for a funeral nothing too much trouble. Had our evening meal and breakfast superb value and very good eating.Hotel had lovely victorian atmosphere nice to stay in old fashioned place for a change. Clean and comfortable.Ideal locatrion for shopping and nightlife short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrouska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

We have stayed here a few times now, stopovers on our way to Scotland and for a wedding.
I have arthritis so fine a new bed a nightmare at times but have always slept like a log.
We have stayed in a variety of rooms and have had a good stay each time. Full range of teas and coffee and biscuits in the room.
The staff are lovely, always friendly and the food at the wedding was some of the best I have had at ant wedding anywhere, and that included some pretty fancy places.
When I read some reviews, I wonder at times if I have stayed in the same place - for me, food, staff and a good nights sleep were great. One does wonder what some people actually want, or do they tour the country looking for things to grumble about.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank judithmwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Hotel

Property: Pinegrove Hotel
Address: 262 London Road, Carlisle CA1 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinegrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family-run hotel conveniently situated close to Carlisle city centre and the M6 with ample on-site parking available. The hotel has thirty comfortable en-suite bedrooms with television and direct dial telephone in each room. Delicious meals are served for lunch or dinner. Meeting and conference facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pinegrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing